Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this as close to recipe as I could. I used 2.5# beef roast instead of 4#. The rest was done to directions. Gave the next door neighbor some and he liked it too. For a point of reference, I eat at a taco stand that has a "fire taco sauce" that I do not find too hot, while the neighbor uses the mild sauce at the same stand. All who ate this tasty roast beef did not think it was not too hot. Enjoy. Great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made two minor changes--I did not have fresh diced green chilies on hand but I did have one 4 ounce can of diced mild green chilies that I used instead. I also used half of a small bottle of Frank's Hot Sauce instead of a full bottle. The taco seasoning I used was homemade and I used california ground chili powder, which has the same great flavor but is milder and not as hot. I did not try this myself but my husband and kids had this for dinner and they ate almost the whole goshdarn roast on their own. They all called me at work and told me how delicious it was--even the littlest! They all told me that I must make this again very soon. NOTE: We used the meat in this recipe for soft tacos, with homemade refried beans and mexican rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
We don't ever chop the onions or dice the peppers in this recipe but simply thinly slice them. Then when you shred the meat you have the strands of onions and peppers mixed in with it. Served with grilled corn tortillas, a corn salsa and a squeeze of lime and it is a fantastic meal. Also a great meat for modified korean style tacos (think kimchi). If you are cooking for someone who prefers a milder dish choose a milder pepper and don't use the hot sauce or cayenne, my kids love it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I make this dish often with the beef chuck roast or boneless pork spare ribs. Since I like to have a filling for tacos as well as a soup, I add 2 cups of beef or chicken stock to the cooker. I also use a can of Ro*tel diced tomatoes with diced green chilies instead of just the diced chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this last night without changing anything. My husband and I both thought it was fantastic, not too hot in my opinion and full of flavor! I used it in burritos with cilantro lime rice, sour cream and avocados. Yum. It tasted like something I got from the restaurant Chipotle. This is definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I have to admit I did not prepare as directed. Made substitutions according to what was in my cupboard but this was absolutely DELISH!!! We used the meat in soft tacos and my boyfriend said it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
My entire family loved this meat! I shredded it and we made amazing burritos with white rice and cilantro, cheese, etc... Even though I don't eat spicy food, the only change I made was to use a small can of diced green chilies instead of fresh green chili pepper, and only used about 1/4 c of onion since my family doesn't really like onion. I also used two smaller roasts instead of one big one. To lessen the impact of the heat, I just used less meat when I made my burrito. I have told everyone about this recipe, and so far everyone else has enjoyed it just as much as we did. One friend who made it used half the amount of cayenne, and she said it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Fairly simple and great for a big family. I added large slices of green bell peppers and onions. Good stuff for Taco Tuesdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was a major hit in my house. My son has mentioned 3 times that I need to make this again and I just made it 2 days ago! I usually read reviews and tweak the recipes, but I didn't have time on this one....no need. It was great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is a FANTASTIC recipe and has become a new staple in our house! We include garlic cloves when searing the meat and use our favorite hot sauce - Gator Hammock Gator Sauce. When using smaller roasts, we've cut the dry ingredients in half and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States