Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
YUM! This is such a great and EASY recipe. I made it for a family event and have already been asked to make it again for the next one. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used pork instead of beef and instead of taco seasoning (I didn't have any on hand) I used some "Mexican Spice". The heat (and much of the flavor!) depends on which hot sauce you use. The first time I made it I used Franks Red Hot because I had a lot of it, and it was good for a crowd. Last night I made it and used Tapatio with a little bit of Ghost Pepper hot sauce. We love spicy food so that was perfect. This tastes great in a taco (CORN tortilla!) with fresh pico and some lime on it. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I didn't have chili powder, so I left that out. I also used only about 2oz of hot sauce. The meat had enough spice to it. Really yummy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is a FANTASTIC recipe and has become a new staple in our house! We include garlic cloves when searing the meat and use our favorite hot sauce - Gator Hammock Gator Sauce. When using smaller roasts, we've cut the dry ingredients in half and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This was a major hit in my house. My son has mentioned 3 times that I need to make this again and I just made it 2 days ago! I usually read reviews and tweak the recipes, but I didn't have time on this one....no need. It was great as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Fairly simple and great for a big family. I added large slices of green bell peppers and onions. Good stuff for Taco Tuesdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
My entire family loved this meat! I shredded it and we made amazing burritos with white rice and cilantro, cheese, etc... Even though I don't eat spicy food, the only change I made was to use a small can of diced green chilies instead of fresh green chili pepper, and only used about 1/4 c of onion since my family doesn't really like onion. I also used two smaller roasts instead of one big one. To lessen the impact of the heat, I just used less meat when I made my burrito. I have told everyone about this recipe, and so far everyone else has enjoyed it just as much as we did. One friend who made it used half the amount of cayenne, and she said it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was a really wonderful recipe. I made this for Cinco de Mayo, and had left overs for beef tacos during the week. I think this would be excellent in many different dishes from burritos to quesadillas or nachos. Regarding the heat or spiciness of the recipe, as with everything if you don't love spicy foods, you could decrease the amount of hot sauce to adjust to your own taste. This one will definitely be worked into the rotation. Great to make over the weekend when you have more time and use for quick weeknight dinners. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cornely

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Made this recipe yesterday. Could only find a 2.5 lb Chuck Roast but made adjustments to accommodate. Yes it quite spicy, but, with a little cheese or crema on your taco....just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
A great spicy roast! We adjusted some of the ingredients since our roast wasn't as large. Tastes great in flour tortillas! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I really gave this a single star only because the meat was tender- but all chuck roast cooked in a crock pot is tender. The spicing for this roast had two things wrong with it: first, if prepared exactly the way listed, it is so screaming hot that no one could eat it except my lead-stomached husband, who said he almost couldn't either, and second, there is almost no flavor here except the mild bitterness that comes from this selection of spices and, as said before, the incredible heat! I don't know how anyone could have achieved different results since I followed the recipe meticulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States