Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe over the weekend and loved it! For the green chiles, I just used 2 small cans of diced green chiles. I left out the taco seasoning and hot sauce and used about 7 oz. of salsa verde. I used all other spices and two shallots instead of the large onion. Lastly, I made it with a 2.5 lb roast. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious but hot... my only change would be reducing Cayenne to 1/2 tsp. Moist, shreds great for tacos or on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was one of the first things I cooked for my boyfriend. If the way to a man's heart is through his stomach, this one worked! My son likes it a lot as well. Of course you can vary the heat based on the type and amount of chilies and hot sauce. Some are hotter than others, but I've found that most of the heat seems to be in the liquid with this. The more the meat is strained the less hot it seems to be. Once it's done I pull the meat out and shred it. Then I return it to the broth and cook it a little longer. We eat it on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe except I did not have cayenne pepper or chili powder so instead I used Mrs. Dash extra spicy seasoning. I also used Rotel instead of green chilies. I cooked it for 8 hours in my crock pot and served it with Zatarans red beans and rice and my husband loved it. The chuck was on sale for $2.99 a pound so I bought a 4.5 pound chuck and cut it in half to sear both pieces well. The searing was the "hardest" part due to the size of the meat, but you gotta sear it! I have enough left over for two more dinner meals this week and I may even freeze some if I decide to not use it all this week. I plan on keeping the broth for a soup too and it will freeze nicely. It's only my husband and I so this was well worth the $13.00 purchase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shogan80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was fantastic. Used a pork roast instead. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I was worried it would be too hot but even my grand daughter and daughter-in-law who say they don't like hot things liked it. my son keeps asking me to send him the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
The sauce was good, but the meat was just ok. Not sure if I'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I have fixed this recipe on several different occasions. The only complaint I got was that the sauce was a bit to spicy. We have served this with taco shells and wraps with chopped cilantro and other items usually served with tacos. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
YUM! This is such a great and EASY recipe. I made it for a family event and have already been asked to make it again for the next one. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used pork instead of beef and instead of taco seasoning (I didn't have any on hand) I used some "Mexican Spice". The heat (and much of the flavor!) depends on which hot sauce you use. The first time I made it I used Franks Red Hot because I had a lot of it, and it was good for a crowd. Last night I made it and used Tapatio with a little bit of Ghost Pepper hot sauce. We love spicy food so that was perfect. This tastes great in a taco (CORN tortilla!) with fresh pico and some lime on it. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I didn't have chili powder, so I left that out. I also used only about 2oz of hot sauce. The meat had enough spice to it. Really yummy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States