Mexican Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I made this a couple of months ago with a 2# pot roast, but used the same amount of the other ingredients, thinking of course, from past experiences with slow cooking, the flavors would be more bland if I halved everything. Not so! I probably should have halved the spices, but it was quite tasty and spicy! It made alot even with a 2# roast. I did, as one other reviewer did, thinly slice a jalapeno and onion and let that cook with the meat to mix in when it was shredded. I also just made the spice ingredients into a paste, including the olive oil, and smeared it all over the roast, then put it in the crock pot and let it cook. It was delicious and am making it again today for another round of meals! I collect hot sauces from different places I travel, so this time is a completely different hot sauce I am using and also made my own taco seasoning, since I don't usually keep that on hand. Trying to keep it all natural! Love, love,love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I had such high hopes for this recipe because I liked the ingredients but as the other reviewers indicated, it was too spicy. I even cut everything in half as I had a 2.8 pd roast. I only used about 2 oz of the hot sauce. If I make it again, i'll just splash in the hot sauce and skip the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Boyfriend said it was weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is such a good recipe though I don't use as much hot sauce only about half. Comes out plenty spicy. I freeze the leftovers in portions and reheat when in need for a fast dinner. Sometimes make this with fried flour tortilla top with the meat, beans, avocado, sour cream, salsa, and a fried egg :) so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Delicious recipe, not overly hot but with a lovely warmth but I DID modify it for reason. We love pork so I used boneless country pork spare ribs and wanting to limit salt, used that very lightly and then sprinkled with Mrs. Dash Fiesta Lime before browning. During browning, kind of as an after-thought, I added some Mrs. Dash Southwestern Chipotle. Very coarsely chopped the onion into narrow wedges, used roasted Hatch green chiles I had on hand, coarsely chopped and removed some/most of the seeds. I did not use taco seasoning, having used the aforementioned seasoning but did use a bit more chili powder. I used about 1/2 as much hot sauce for approx. 3 lbs of pork and used minced garlic since I never use garlic powder. I also sprinkled everything with about 3 T. of lime juice and, because it was sitting overnight before the actual cooking, added maybe 1/4 c water to the crock. The next morning, I set it out of the refrigerator about an hour before inserting it in the cooking unit and cooked it on High for 4.5 hours...smaller amount of a different type/cut of meat. It came out perfectly tender with just the right amount of cooking liquid; glad I added the additional liquid as I fear the pork may have been dry otherwise. My son who is a great cook and loves green chiles thoroughly, thought this was delicious, I shared the recipe and I'm sure both of us will make this again. And I will try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe over the weekend and loved it! For the green chiles, I just used 2 small cans of diced green chiles. I left out the taco seasoning and hot sauce and used about 7 oz. of salsa verde. I used all other spices and two shallots instead of the large onion. Lastly, I made it with a 2.5 lb roast. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Delicious but hot... my only change would be reducing Cayenne to 1/2 tsp. Moist, shreds great for tacos or on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Coulter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was one of the first things I cooked for my boyfriend. If the way to a man's heart is through his stomach, this one worked! My son likes it a lot as well. Of course you can vary the heat based on the type and amount of chilies and hot sauce. Some are hotter than others, but I've found that most of the heat seems to be in the liquid with this. The more the meat is strained the less hot it seems to be. Once it's done I pull the meat out and shred it. Then I return it to the broth and cook it a little longer. We eat it on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe except I did not have cayenne pepper or chili powder so instead I used Mrs. Dash extra spicy seasoning. I also used Rotel instead of green chilies. I cooked it for 8 hours in my crock pot and served it with Zatarans red beans and rice and my husband loved it. The chuck was on sale for $2.99 a pound so I bought a 4.5 pound chuck and cut it in half to sear both pieces well. The searing was the "hardest" part due to the size of the meat, but you gotta sear it! I have enough left over for two more dinner meals this week and I may even freeze some if I decide to not use it all this week. I plan on keeping the broth for a soup too and it will freeze nicely. It's only my husband and I so this was well worth the $13.00 purchase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shogan80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was fantastic. Used a pork roast instead. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States