Mexican Posole Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe was very plain and not authentic at all. I added Cayenne pepper, cilantro cubes, and more garlic and salt. Taste more better and gives it that spice it needed .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Hubs and I love this recipe! I haven't made it with the chicarones and feet yet though. So good and savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My first attempt a Posole...I was very pleased by the outcome...being from New Mexico I did add Hatch green chile to it, but here that is like a daily staple. My NM friends thought it was perfect..stick to the recipe and you will be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I used this recipie to refresh my memory when re creating my mother in laws posole. This reminded most of hers although I did change several things using indredents I remember her using. First was the meat. She puts this pork called espinaso which you can find in you hispanic market @the the meat counter. And we also add a few skinlesschicken thighs and I put just a small abount of pork sholder (about half a small roast &a I freeze the other half for next time) I do this because I am not a fan of meat w/everyweek bones and fat and all that ( I call it creepy meat lol) I use either dried California chilies or New Mexico Chilies she says they're basically the same but the New Mexico are sort of a better quality although I believe they're the same price. I serve it with thinly sliced radish rounds, chopped cilantro & white onion, shredded cabbage, lime wedges and we eat it with sliced birrote (the mexican bread you use to make tortas)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papanpez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
i also included bay leaves to boil with meat and water. and added my homemade salsa at the end in the bowl and tasted great. thanks for the receipe. it was my 1st time trying it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyford, Texas, USA
Living In: South Holland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I used pork neck and pig's feet, added some fresh, diced tomatoes and fresh, hot peppers from the garden. I served it with shredded cabbage, fresh onion, cilantro and lime juice. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Unique recipe. The picture shows the proper garnish of cabbage and radishes, even though they are not mentioned in the recipe. Alas, there is a lemon wedge and lime always trumps lemon unless you are making cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
the rciepe calls for canned hominy then gives directions for fresh hominy that you have to cook till it pops. If you use the canned you do not have to cook it till it pops. It is already cooked. You can use eithe, the fresh tastes better, but takes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I love posole! I use the dried chiles, and added a couple bay leaves also. Top with cilantro, limes, onion, lettuce, and of course hot sauce! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderful dish for a cold day or any day! I added a small can of El Pato sauce instead of the tomatoes and omitted the feet. Also I blended a cup of the hominy with the softened chilies and garlic and added it to the soup. I topped it with shredded cabbage, lime, onions and ate it with tortillas...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States