Mexican Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I skipped browning the chops in a skillet and put them directly in the oven. I think this keeps the chops from drying out. After baking in the oven, the rice was still uncooked. So after baking, I transferred everthing but the pork chops to a sauce pan with with a lid and simmered for about 10-15 minutes. This cooked the rice. Then, I put the rice mixture back on the pork chops for serving. It was very yummy. Next time, I will simmer the rice mixture on the stove first for about 15 minutes, and then, bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Not the most amazing dish I've ever made, but good enough to make it into my occasional rotation. I added cumin & chile powder. I used frozen corn instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was pretty good. I used two cans of diced tomatoes, frozen corn (thawed), and two 14-ounce cans of beans (one of kidney and one of black). I added a little extra rice plus some water to make up for the extra rice. This took a LOT longer to cook, closer to 90 minutes. That may have been my fault (the extra rice and beans!), but I DID add extra water. My husband wasn't thrilled with it but I enjoyed it. I might try it with kielbasa to see if he likes it better. Thanks, JV, for a different pork chop recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! Substituting what I had on hand (1 can tomatoes with jalapenos, frozen Mexican-style corn with black beans & onions & green peppers, black beans) and using other reviewers' opinions (adding 1/4 c more rice, topping chops with cheese, added cumin), this has got to be one of my best meals. Everyone loved it including my mega-finicky 6-yr-old. I also Mrs. Dash'd the chops when browning them; they tasted great and were so tender. I also let the tomato mixture simmer on the stove for about 10 minutes to give the rice a head start. Turned out to be a good idea. Pork is not a major part of our diet, but this will be the way I fix it from now on. Mexican cooking is so versatile so I can't wait to try this with chicken and beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this! I added 1 t. cumin, 1 t. chili powder, 1 t. chipotle chili powder, and it was wonderful (also added 4 chopped green onions)! Served with cheese quesadillas on the side... yummy! Edited to add: I made this recipe again, this time adding a little more rice, a scant 3/4 cup, and it was even better! With just the 1/2 cup, the rice got a little lost in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I left out the beans, which are not a favorite in my house. This was good, but the pork chops were a little bland. Next time I will marinate the chops before cooking, but I will make it again, especially considering the lack of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was better than I anticipated - but I did make substitutions and adjustments to it. I substituted a 28oz can of diced tomatoes for stewed tomatoes. I did not have the chiles so I substituted an envelope of taco seasoning. I had six pork chops and used all of them. And also sprinkled grated mexican-style cheese as the previous reviewer suggested. It was great made this way. I am sure it is equally tasty made as the base recipe indicates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wynantskill, New York, USA
Living In: Black Forest, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Excellent, I loved this recipe and I am not that big a fan of pork. Rice was great all by it's self!!! Hint: I added Adobo seasoning to the prk before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
A very good, hearty recipe. I did not have stewed tomatoes so cooked 6 fresh, with some chopped onion, celery, orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States