Mexican Pizza II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I halved the recipe and it was enough for two people with a slice left for leftovers. After I put the water and taco seasonings into the pan with the cooked beef I let it simmer for about 10 minutes so the liquid and flavor was absorbed then added the refried beans to the pan along with about 1/2 cup of fresh salsa and mixed it all together to heat up. sprayed a cookie sheet with Pam, covered one tortilla with bean/beef/salsa mixture and about a cup of cheddar cheese then second tortilla topped with the remaining Mexican cheese and baked for ten minutes as instructed. Topped with sour cream, olives, and tomatoes and it was DELICIOUS! (added a few diced pickled jalapeño's on top of mine for some heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
We had this and it was great!!! I should have taken a picture of it because it was a real pretty dish with all the toppings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkasl59

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My Family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great recipe - very easy and a nice change to our usual taco dinner. I made a few modifications to the recipe: 1) used ground chicken instead of beef for taco meat; 2) used black beans instead of refried beans (rinsed them before adding to taco meat); and 3) added cheddar cheese and a mexican cheese blend on top of the meat before putting the top tortilla on. I still put both cheese on top of the tortilla, as the recipe calls for, but only a little since I used the cheese on the inside. For our dipping "sauce", we used sour cream, salsa and green chiles. Delish! The only downfall to the recipe is that the bottom tortilla didn't get very hard and pizza crust-like so it made the slices a little messy to pick up and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Used my own fresh pizza dough, and pre-baked it at 400 for 8 minutes, then spread on a thin layer of olive oil and some mild salsa and added the refried bean-ground beef mixture. Baked for 10 minutes, then let it sit for 5 minutes. Finally added the fresh toppings. It is mildly flavored, and for those who like it smoking hot, probably more taco seasoning or maybe extra spices. It definitely needed some salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I was very excited about this recipe but it just didn't live up to the Taco Bell standard! If I ever crave a Mexican Pizza I will just go to Taco Bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
very good. i feel it's missing enchilada sauce but it was still yummy without it. next time i might warm up the tortillas a little on the stove top to get them a little bit crispier. besides that i really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I thought it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I was a little nervous about not pre-baking the tortillas first, but always like to try the recipes as written first! The recipe was great just as written!!! I did like many others and served up the toppings in separate bowls so they could add what they liked! This will definitely be made again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Very tasty and simple. We cut the beans down to one can and stilly had plenty of filling. It's easy to adjust to different tastes with more or less toppings, cheese, or filling. Definitely better than Taco Bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States