Mexican Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I read a bunch of reviews for this and made some of my own changes and it came out delicious! I made this for a dinner party so I tripled the batch-I used 3 boxes of whole wheat shells that I boiled in a giant pot while sautéing 2 yellow onions in another pot with a little salt and pepper, Cajun spices, and chili powder. Then I added 3 cans each of black beans and corn-putting some of the liquid from them into the wok. Then I added lime juice from two limes (one probably would have been enough), two cans of rotel tomatoes, cilantro, and a small jar of salsa. Once the pasta was done (I boiled it for about 8 minutes) I drained it and returned it to the large pot and added a block of cream cheese. I heated it until it was melted and then added the wok of all the other stuff. And then I put in two packets of Taco Bell seasoning and mixed it up over heat until everything was hot. We ate it out of bowls and added sour cream, cheese, sliced avocado, and verde hot sauce. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Not a lot of flavor could use a lot more spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
ok. I prefer a little more spice so will add additional seasonings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This was delicious! Used whole wheat spiral pasta and omitted olives....so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I'm giving 5 stars because it was really easy to make and tasted great. It went over well and got compliments. The only changes I made were that I used fire-roasted diced tomatoes instead of plain. I also added one jalapeno and used slightly more seasoning (Trader Joe's brand) and olives than it said. It turned out perfectly spicy and I didn't even have to add cayenne (which I do for most things I cook). Again, I highly recommend this one. Great one for a beginning vegan such as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Hutchens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This ROCKS! I added 3 cloves of garlic chopped to the onions and used frozen chopped gr. pepper. I used an entire can of black olives and sliced them (I love them). I did drain the tomatoes as I was not sure to do this. I added some salsa verda which made this nice and spicy. Garnished with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream! I LOVE THIS! What a wonderful dish and meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
excellent made with lentil pasta great vegan meal. Used taco seasoning mix from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
So So good. Used mac noodles and a full package of organic corn...because you can't have to much. I made a double batch. Used the taco spice 1 recipe here on all recipes. Someone suggested adding sour cream. . . I just tested it in a bowl. I like it both ways. So I am serving with SC on the side!I bet with that thicker noodle it would have rocked! could easily add groud anything for meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This recipe was both simple and delicious. I didn't add the green pepper and olives just due to family preference. Used a fresh ear of corn, advocado and because we are doing a vegan challenge this week (we are vegetarian) I added a bit of vegan cream cheese. I fed it to a roomful of manly carnivores and they devoured it!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I don't like to review a recipe if I have altered it, but it tastes very good so I will tell you what I did. I had a can of tomatoes, a can of creamed corn, and a can of black eyed peas. To these I added purple onion (what I had), and the chopped black olives. I had no green pepper. I did have some sun dried tomatoes so I added those. I did not have salsa. I had some hummus I made yesterday, so I put about 1/4 of a cup of that in. I used the whole envelope of taco seasoning mix, gradually taste testing til it all ended up in there! I didn't have any pasta, so I have brown rice in the rice cooker right now, and will serve the sauce over the rice. I think this is a very forgiving recipe, put in what you have. It would be good with sour cream or plain yogurt, and avocado on the side. Also, could be made a bit hotter with some sort of chili's. Like I said, if I didn't alter it, I would give it 5 stars. But I can't rate what I didn't actually make. I love my version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States