Mexican Orzo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I measured the dry orzo--had a generous 2 cups. I did not use as many beans as called for--only about 1/2. After the limes were juiced--I had about 3/4 cup. I also added 1 tsp cumin--I like in Mexican dishes--but not necessary. You MUST let it chill for at least 2 hours --the flavours need to develop. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Loved it! Tasted so fresh! In my second attempt I added about two tablespoons of chopped chipotle in adobo sauce to the dressing and it gave this dish the kick I was yearning for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
We had this last night and I made half a recipe. We don't care for corn in salads or chickpeas, so I eliminated both and used leeks instead of green onions (what I had). I used 2 cans of beans instead (one black, one kidney), and half of a minced jalapeno and Fresno peppers. After a couple of hours in the refrigerator, I decided it needed more lime and oil, so I used the amount for the full recipe. My half recipe easily had 8 servings. It was very light and refreshing, especially when paired with Mexican Salmon (from this site). We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Bland...not a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was awesome! I took it to a party...I was shocked to see it all gone went I went to pick up the bowl at the end of the night. I've had several people ask for the recipe. I did add a pinch of cumin. And for a regular family serving I would only use 8 oz ozro if that, it makes a lot, and lower the quanity of some of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
So good! Would be a great summer supper with some grilled chicken either on the side or mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I halved the amount of orzo, and also added a can of Great Northern Beans. I used half of the amount of corn and had to use dried cilantro (all I had). I omitted the salt, and added cumin, dried red pepper powder, and garlic powder. For those of you looking for more flavor, definitely add cumin and chili powder (I was out of the chili powder unfortunately). If all else fails, throw in an envelope of taco seasoning! I can't wait to taste this one (only 1 hour and 43 minutes to go, minimum....). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I love this! I followed the recipe exactly except I added just a little extra corn. Very tasty and refreshing. It would be ideal during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I thought this was really good, making just a couple small changes to suit our tastes - namely, halving the amounts of green and red onion, adding a minced jalapeno, and adding a bit of cumin. I was a little nervous about using the full amount of cilantro, but I did and it was fine. Made a second, smaller batch later using just black beans and adding avocado - that was good, too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States