Mexican Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
So I substituted: two 6" corn tortillas (perfect amount), 8 egg whites and 4 eggs with yolk, cheddar cheese, lowfat kefir yogurt cheese (instead of sour cream). This tasted great with all the subs! My Mexican boyfriend loved it to finish the entire plate, get seconds. He said it reminded him of food from Mexico City. So tastes great even with all the healthy substitutions, plus is relatively authentic. Prep time is fantastic as most of my boyfriend's Mexican food recipes take hours to complete. I will be cooking this more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Yum...I had a hard avocado, so used slices, and used corn tortillas...always better with corn. Also dribbled some salsa over the top. Really good. Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Dorman Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
These made a delicious dinner, I really liked the tortillas in the omelet. I added the green chilies to the egg mixture but left everything else the same. I was a little confused by the 8 eggs in the 8" pan? We just ended up doing 2 eggs at a time per omelet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Mmmmm! I truly enjoyed this omelet for breakfast this morning! I made two minor changes due to what I had in my refrigerator: whole wheat for flour tortillas and low fat sour cream instead of regular oh and also half butter half olive oil. Thanks Helen for such a delicious recipe! Elvira S. Phoenix, Az.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was an excellent breakfast omelet. Next time I will add 2 or 3 tortillas though. Thanks so much for this great recipe Helen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My husband absolutely LOVED this. I only gave it 4 stars for my own opinion. lol But if you love guacamole like he does, this will be a favortie recipe, no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I used a mixture of cheddar and jack cheese, other than that, I didn't change a thing, made it for Sunday brunch and everybody raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
The avocado filling for this omelet is so yummy! I like to make my own guacemole, but I never thought of adding sour cream, and it really makes a huge difference in the texture and flavor. I also added some green onion, and used lime instead of lemon juice, and added the tomatoes right to the filling, rather than as a topping. Another great thing about this reipe is that it is really adjustable to your personal tastes. A quick and easy meal for just one if you scale the recipe down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States