Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This truly is a wonderful dish -- rich, earthy, flavorful and low in fat and cholesterol. I've made it many times, but changed it quite significantly. I find the recipe workes best when I do the following -- REPLACE the vegetable oil with olive (healthier), the canned soup with 28 oz crushed tomatoes, the canned chillies with a jalapeno (seeds and ribs removed), the coco with 1 oz unsweetened dark chocolate, the dry garlic and cilantro with fresh. ADD cayenne peppers and coriander (to taste) plus one handful of finely ground almonds. Simmer it with about one pound of cooked chicken and add the cilantro close to the end of the cook time. Serve it over brown rice or in tortillas, toped with reduced-fat cheese, a dollop of light sour, or diced fresh cilantro. My favorite part: with the addition of olive oil, dark chocolate and almonds this dish offers a nice supply of anti-oxidants, which have been found in studies to lower blood pressure and protect the heart. Eat up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I am rating this because I used it for a base recipe but added a lot of my own touch. I used 2 oz. of actual dark chocolate because that is what authentic mole sauce uses. I used a lot less tomato sauce (instead of soup) because it tasted too much like doctored tomato soup. I added 2 tbsp cinnamon and more cumin also some cayenne pepper for some spice. I left out the cilantro and peppers according to my own preference. Mine turned out PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
WOW! I thought this looked too easy (it is) and therefore could not possibly be that good. This recipe is fantastic, it works so well! I added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up and tossed the prepared sauce in to a crock pot with some shredded chicken. Amazing with tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
We loved it! Used fresh cilantro and garlic and closer to 1/2 cup of onion. Made the sauce a day ahead and mixed in the roasted chicken before serving over rice and the flavors really melded well. Couldn't get easier - thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was the first time I've ever tried anything like this. I followed a few suggestions made in the reviews, i.e., instead of tomato soup I used two cans of Mexican stewed tomatoes, and added salt. My kids thought "chocolate sauce" on chicken was crazy, until they tasted it. This was awesome, and will come into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was really good. We like it a little more spicey so I added a little bit of finely chopped jalapeno. I shredded cooked chicken and simmered it in the sauce for a bout 10 minutes. Also, to make it a little thinnner, you could add some chicken or beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Loved this recipe! It's quick, easy, and uses common ingredients. I didn't have any green chiles, so subbed some jalapeno peppers ... not too many. It added a little zip without being excessively hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
The easiest mole sauce, and quite yummy! I made it according to the recipe for the first time - next time I'll double the chocolate for a little bit richer flavor. It was terrific over beef & cheese enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I had serious doubts about this one--it seemed too easy. Very good though. I have had better mole, I guess, but when you consider the work involved, this is probably the only one I'll make again--easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I can't get over how good and easy this is. I used fresh garlic and re-hydrated some red chile peppers and minced them for this recipe as that's what I had, so that took a little more time. But my gosh the flavor is wonderful! Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States