Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Easy and good base recipe. We've made this a couple times now and each time "doctor" it a little differently. Using fresh garlic is a nice addition. We make the chicken concurrently (cube and do in frying pan or boil and shred) and then toss it all together before serving with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Threw together quickly and was pretty tasty - only change was fresh garlic as that is what I keep on hand. I deboned a rotissere chicken and simmered in sauce as someone else suggested. Will make again and try adding jalepenos and cilantro as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Never having tasted "real" mole sauce, I didn't know what to expect. I really thought this would taste like doctored-up tomato soup, but it was very good. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I followed the directs but used canned tomato sauce and fresh cilantro and garlic. This doesn't taste anything like mole...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
WAY YUMMY! I used it over enchiladas instead of regular old enchilada sauce and it was a BIG hit! The only thing that I changed was using fresh garlic instead of dried. I am definitely using this sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was extremely easy. After seeing my mother make her mole from scratch years ago, I didn't think that this version could taste very good. I can't compare it to authenic mole, but if I make it again, it will be this recipe. Too much work doing it from scratch. I too added jalapenio, fresh cilantro and a minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
It's great! Love the richness made by the chocolate. Nice "zip" to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was a super easy recipe - I didn't have any cocoa so I used some chocolate candy I had and used fresh garlic. I threw it in the crockpot with some cubed chicken on high for two hours - it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was the first time I've ever tried anything like this. I followed a few suggestions made in the reviews, i.e., instead of tomato soup I used two cans of Mexican stewed tomatoes, and added salt. My kids thought "chocolate sauce" on chicken was crazy, until they tasted it. This was awesome, and will come into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I tried this recipe with a little bit of salt added, about 1 tablespoon. i spread the recipe over the following chicken recipe Merinate the chicken with corn flour, white pepper and 1 tablespoon of oil. then fry and mix with gravy. this was a real success and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States