Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I served this recipe with no changes to the administrators and the superintendency of our school district, they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This is the authentic mole sauce recipe you were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Loved this recipe! It's quick, easy, and uses common ingredients. I didn't have any green chiles, so subbed some jalapeno peppers ... not too many. It added a little zip without being excessively hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was a good starting point for a mole sauce, but left a lot to be desired. I added some red chili pepper flakes, and more cumin and coriander. It did taste more flavorful once you added it to meat. Next time I will try adding some ancho chili, fresh serranos and more herbs and spices to increase the depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My husband makes a mole sauce that will knock your socks off, so I figured I'd give it a try. This wasn't as good as his, so I spiced it up with about 1/4 tsp of cayanne. I also added about 2 tbs of cream and I used tomatoe sauce instead of soup. That helped, but I agree with other reviewers, this still needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
I've never had mole before, just heard it talked on and on about in a university class that dealt with Mexican history. SO I had high expectations and was only somewhat disappointed...and after all, considering it came out of cans and took about 15 minutes, what can you expect...the cocoa makes this earthy while the tomato soup makes it sort of creamy/cloying; I might switch the soup for sauce, or paste with water added, but if you use a fairly tart soup (mine was sweet) that might be fine. Skipped cilantro as I inevitably hate it. Used 2 cloves diced real garlic & fried it with onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this as part of a Spanish class project, making the sauce during the period and using dark meat chicken I had already cooked at home. It was fantastic! Quick and delicious, even in a less than ideal cooking situation (one hot plate, ten minutes; yikes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
We had this on chicken and over rice like the picture shows. It was okay, but not something I'll make again. I can't define what was missing but something was. Also I think tomato sauce or diced tomatoes would be better than tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I could taste the tomato soup way too much. It had a good flavor but definitely tasted like doctored up soup. I'm going to keep looking for another mole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I tried this recipe over chicken and cheese enchiladas and loved it. My family doesn't care for traditional red enchilada sauce so this is a very welcome and easy substitution. I may try adding jalapenos in the future to make it hotter but this one was great as is. Thanks for the great recipe, we will use it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States