Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Good recipes I will make this again. VERY easy to make.We put shredded chicken inot sauce and we ate on corn shells. I do have to say this is not the mole I was looking for. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
great! i didnt change a thing! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Soo good and easy. Everyone in our family loved it (husband myself and two kids under 5). I did go easy on the peppers and cumin and added a couple of cloves of garlic and fresh cilantro at the end. The basics of this recipe are so right on you can adjust the seasoning to your own likes and have it turn out just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Quick, easy and good. The only changes I made were to use tomato sauce instead of soup and to add a pinch of cinnamon. I made Juicy Roasted Chicken from this website, shredded it, and served it with the mole over rice. A satisfying combination that I will probably try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was a good base recipe that's fun to doctor up. I made it exactly as directed the first time and it was tasty, then decided to alter it the second time, replacing the tomato soup with tomato sauce and the cocoa powder with Mexican chocolate (in a much great amount). It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The good thing is that this was easy to prepare and is inexpensive. However, it doesn't taste like real Mexican Mole. Traditional mexican mole uses mexican chocolate (which has cinnamon in it) and the sauce comes out richer and thicker. This has an okay taste, but it's not mole. We probably won't make it again. Thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
The sauce was good but definitely could have used more kick. Next time I will toss in some chili powder and more cumin etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This sauce is delicious! My boyfriend made it for me since I love it at the Mexican restaurant nearby. I was weary about how it would turn out, especially after looking over the simple ingredients, but it turned out great! We omitted the cilantro because I don't like it. This was easy to make and goes wonderfully on chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This truly is a wonderful dish -- rich, earthy, flavorful and low in fat and cholesterol. I've made it many times, but changed it quite significantly. I find the recipe workes best when I do the following -- REPLACE the vegetable oil with olive (healthier), the canned soup with 28 oz crushed tomatoes, the canned chillies with a jalapeno (seeds and ribs removed), the coco with 1 oz unsweetened dark chocolate, the dry garlic and cilantro with fresh. ADD cayenne peppers and coriander (to taste) plus one handful of finely ground almonds. Simmer it with about one pound of cooked chicken and add the cilantro close to the end of the cook time. Serve it over brown rice or in tortillas, toped with reduced-fat cheese, a dollop of light sour, or diced fresh cilantro. My favorite part: with the addition of olive oil, dark chocolate and almonds this dish offers a nice supply of anti-oxidants, which have been found in studies to lower blood pressure and protect the heart. Eat up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesapeake Baybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
DELICIOUS!!!!! I'm making it for the third time in 1 1/2 months. It's a HIT with our family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States