Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
When I read this recipe, I thought, "mole can't possibly be this easy!" It turns out it isn't. This didn't taste at *all* like mole. I couldn't even fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent! And so easy. I did find that the cocoa added a touch of bitterness that I didn't care for, but I took another's suggestion and added 2T of peanut butter, which helped. Everyone ate it! (!!!) I simmered chicken strips in the sauce and some of us wrapped it in tortillas w/lettuce and some ate it as is. The sauce got very thick; I didn't have any more broth to thin it, but we ate it anyway. Going into the rotation! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Yummy!!I added a can of diced tomatoes, upped the amount of cocoa powder to 1.5 TBSP, added 2 TBSP of crunchy peanut butter (because an older hispanic woman I used to know always added PB to hers and it was super!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Took the gist of this recipe, with a few changes: more cocoa powder, a whole onion, a respectable chunk of fresh garlic, lots of chili powder, some cinnamon, some cardamom (a.k.a. whatever was in my spice rack). Lacking tomato soup, I used the end of a bottle of spicy V8 and some chicken stock until the consistency looked right. I didn't have any chiles lying around, so I put this sauce on a roasted poblano pepper stuffed with taco-seasoned pulled pork and corn from a slow cooker, threw the whole thing in the oven at 350 for a few minutes to get everyone happy, and finished with some fresh cilantro and a squirt of lime juice on top. Whoa. Will be making this again. Probably tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
We are very pleased with this recipe! My 4year-old loved it. We had it over chicken wrapped in flour tortillas and added fresh avacado, tomato and made corn chips at home. I added a little (1/4cup maybe) extra water at the end before the boil to make sure it didn't get too thick. It turned out perfectly and I was very impressed. I will use this recipe often - we have mexican food several times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was the easiest, tastiest sauce I've made in a long time! I loved that it was adaptable to things I had in my pantry withou sacrificing flavor. I didn't have green chilis so I used a can of Rotel with green chilis and 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle powder for the heat. I drained the tomatoes and the sauce came out thick and rich. It was so good I just wanted to drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I am rating this because I used it for a base recipe but added a lot of my own touch. I used 2 oz. of actual dark chocolate because that is what authentic mole sauce uses. I used a lot less tomato sauce (instead of soup) because it tasted too much like doctored tomato soup. I added 2 tbsp cinnamon and more cumin also some cayenne pepper for some spice. I left out the cilantro and peppers according to my own preference. Mine turned out PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Everyone loved this!!! I added a bit more chocolate powder because that's my favorite part! I made a chicken enchilada with flour tortillas and used the mole as the sauce. Everyone raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Dull, bland, no spice no kick. We had to add half the spice cabinet to make this taste like anything but tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is a pretty good and not too sweet Mole sauce. Mine turned out a bit thicker than I like, but all in all pretty good. My husband - who turned his nose up when he saw me putting chocolate in chicken, even liked it. I just used seasoned and baked then shredded chicken breast and it was perfect over rice flavored with lime, garlic and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States