Mexican Mole Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Read a lot of reviews before making this and used tomato sauce instead of tomato soup, changed up some of the spices, and it was still way too tomato-y!!!! Did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Loved this recipe - but substituted 1 can organic tomato paste and 2.5 cans of water for the tomato soup, also used 2T cocoa powder with about a tsp or Turbano sugar, used fresh cilantro, and chipotle chilies instead of green, and a whole small onion, chopped. Very easy and tasted great! Thanks for the recipe! LOVED IT and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I don't think I would have liked this with tomato soup but I used crushed tomatoes instead and it was delicious. I also used 2 1/2 squares of baker's chocolate instead of cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
In one day I've made three different versions of this sauce and it came out great every time. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Husband and I liked it and will make it again, but will add some cayenne or something next time... we like it hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperK, Beginner Baker!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was very easy and quite yummy, although I did make some substitutions and additions. I didn't have condensed tomato soup so instead used half a can of regular "Hearty tomato" Progresso soup. Also I didn't have any canned green chilies so instead I sauteed some green bell pepper along with the onions (about a 1/3 cup finely chopped), and then simmered the sauce with some dried red chilies from our garden for spice. I added fresh cilantro instead of dried (1 tablespoon chopped) and a little bit of salt and cinnamon to round out the flavors. Will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
HUGE hit!! Took to party and they raved it was even better than a restaurant. I doubled the sauce, used garlic powder, added extra cumin to taste. I poured on top of chicken/onion/celery/yellow and red peppers mix, let simmer about 10 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I also added peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was very tasty! It had a bit too much of a tomato taste for my taste though, so I think I'll increase the chocolate and reduce the tomato amount or replace it with stewed tomatoes next time. But a very good starting point, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It tastes like tomato soup. I think it'd be better if you used tomato sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States