Mexican Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Daughter Ashley is giving this a five because she said it was the best meatloaf I ever made! The girls and I are mexican food freaks, so I'd have to agree with her. (Mick, you've gotta try this) It was a little hard to roll but it could have been because I always use ground turkey instead of beef for my meatloaf and it tends to be a bit softer. Anyway, we absolutely loved this recipe Julie and I'll certainly make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
After trying this recipe I couldn't believe it wasn't rated and put in the hall of fame for the best meatloaf! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. This is now my family's favorite! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This is a great recipe. I add some salsa to the refried beans as well as cheese as I am heating it. To make the rolling easier I lay this out on wax paper then pull the edges up and use a spatula if needed to roll it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My husband and I both liked the taste of this, but I think the procedure needs tweaking. I found the layers slid as I tried to roll it, and it didn't turn out very pretty. I had the foresight to put the foil wrapped roll into a loaf pan, and it's a good thing I did since the foil leaked a lot of liquid. I will make this again, but layer the meat, then beans, tortillas, cheese and the remainder of the meat in a loaf pan, top it with the salsa, and bake it for an hour. Oh, and I only used half the beans in the meatloaf and served the rest on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was good but if using salsa, use a thicker type or drain some of the liquid. I also spread chipotle pepper paste on top for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Hands down, the BEST meatloaf recipe out there. This will please even the meatloaf haters! The only downside to this recipe is that it is a little difficult to roll, otherwise, dynamite! Keep em coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
My daughter loves this recipe, and she's picky! We use the hard taco shells or nachos inside the meatloaf because that's what she likes, and it turns out really good. Tried it with jalapeno's, olives and some hot sauce and just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I'm sorry to be the downer here, but we didn't like this recipe at all. I think maybe I mixed the meat mixture too much but it was hard to handle raw and very tough after it was cooked. The inside part ended up being a little too mushy. We ended up throwing it away. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Not bad. But I would stick with bread crumbs. It was to soft and crumbly. But it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
All I have to say is "WOW!" This was a great variation of a classic...full of flavor and easy to make. My kids and husband couldn't get enough and keep talking about how yummy this was. Thanks for a great new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States