Mexican Mango Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Tried this one for our Mexican food Thanksgiving this year. I was able to save it by draining the liquid and adding quite a bit of brown sugar, but even then it didn't deserve a great rating. WAY too much lemon juice made this so mouth puckering that no one wanted more than the first taste they took. Sorry, but this one just didn't make it into our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe was delish! Made it a couple times in one week...mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delicious. Very nice change for a side dish. Served it with steak and coconut shrimp. Might not add as much water the next time. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was delicious, and different than anything I've ever eaten. It was VERY quick and easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I only wish you had described how to cut up the mango in the recipe. I didn't know how and tried to do it my self, thinking it couldn't be that hard and didn't really do the mango justice. After looking at u tube videos on how to dice a mango, I wish I had another mango to try again. Anyway, I also, was a little worried about all the chili powder but it was really good. Going to let my boyfriend try it tonight and see what he thinks. He likes spicy stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedChefKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wasn't for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
As a child growing up un a Mexican household, these tastes were very common -lemon and chili sprinkled on fruit, but you have taken this concept to a new level by boiling the liqiud and submeging the fruit to coat. I must admit, I was hesitant about changing my "costumbre" but this was excellent. Thanks for sharing and tell your mother-in-law thanks also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was so good! I made it in the morning, cooled it and put it in the refrig. Then at dinner I just heated it up for a few seconds in the microwave. Wish I had doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I thought this was really yummy and different. It's spicy, limey, and sweet all at the same time. I will make this again. I think it would taste better after being refridgerated .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
i usually eat my mangos like this...but i add pineapple, oranges and cucumber. it is like a summer treat. just sprinkle chilli powder on chopped up fruit in a cup, then squeeze lime juice and salt to coat the rest of the fruit...it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanjustorres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States