Mexican Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My husband and I both liked this dish a lot. I was a little concerned with adding salsa to Mac and Cheese but it made a very unique flavor. I made nacho cheese sauce from this site for the dish and it was a surprisingly nice dinner that even our 11 month old seemed to enjoy. I left out the green chiles so that our son could try this dish, and thought my husband and I could add jalopenos to the top of ours. Honest I thought it tasted better without the jalopenos. My husband loves cheese so he added some shredded chedder to his, but thought that it was nice without. Also I did not hace onion powder so I just chopped half of an onion I had lying in the fridge. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
OK i made this for my mom dad and brothers and they LOVED it they keep asking me to make it again and again GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
wow this is amazing, but i did tweak it to my liking...i did 1lb lean ground beef browned, then i cooked up the 2 boxes of mac and cheese drained and added in 1 15.5 oz "on the border" salsa con queso, 1/2 cup medium salsa, 1 of the packets of the powder cheese mix, 1/4 cup of milk and stirred it all together..i then folded the meat in and heated until all combined....so delish!!!!! thnx for giving me this canvas to make amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayd_84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Eunice, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
It was good the kids an husband loved it. It made alot so we gave the rest to my father-in-law. He said it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I make a similar recipe. Take 2 boxes of mac n cheese and make as usual and add two cans of green chili's and some lil smokies. Layer club crackers in a casserole dish top with cheddar cheese then mac and cheese mixture then more cheese and top with remaining crackers. I tasted this at a holiday party and had to get the recipe to make at home because it was so good and easy to make. Mac and cheese is a quick meal during a busy week and I love recipes that I can throw together in a hurry but still taste homemade and yummy. Thanks for the recipe i will try it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made this for my husband and his friend..they liked it but it was nothing special. I used a half packet of taco seasoning..that helped out alot..but overall was not to bad..I'll be making this again when I need something quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WhitneyAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
My husband loved this so much that he asked me to make it a second day in a row. I am vegetarian, so I substituted soy chorizo for the ground beef. But, it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I was really surprised that I liked this as much as I did. Totally easy, totally simple. I was starving, but didn't feel up to cooking a big meal, so this really hit the spot. I did use a can of Rotel (very well drained) instead of the salsa and green chiles. I only used a couple large dollops of nacho cheese because I find that stuff SO salty and mac & cheese is salty enough already. I think next time I would skip the nacho cheese completely and it would be good. This is a good recipe when you're hungry but not for anything that takes more than 20 minutes! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I cut this in half for just me and the boys. It was okay. Just a little salty. I smothered mine in Frank's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is very Hamburger Helper-esque. In fact, bf thought that is what I made for lunch. We have a box of HH in the cupboard that a roommate left and the pic is almost exactly the same! I chose it to use up some nacho cheese sauce, and I completely forgot to add the cheese packets to the mix. However, I really don't think they are needed--it is very cheesey already from the nacho cheese sauce. I subbed salsa verde for the green chiles. It was fine, but not something I would make on a normal basis. We aren't really HH fans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States