Mexican Layered Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I added taco meat as one of the layers and tomato on top for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this twice for two different occasions. It was wonderful. Remember to leave out the hamburger if your event is on a Friday night during lent because no one would eat it the first time since it had meat in it! The second time, it was also perfect. It takes a lot longer than the recipe says. Between browning the hamburger and letting it cool and layering everything just right, it took 45 min. to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is really good. I made the slightest of changes in that I mixed just a bit of the taco seasoning into the refried beans & then the rest into the sour cream. Also, instead of topping it all with the guacamole, I went in this order: beans, guacamole, sour cream, shredded cheese, diced tomatoes, jalapenos. The reason for this is that the avocado browns when exposed to air. You can squirt lime juice over it to help slow it down, but it's just easier to put the guac between the beans and the sour cream. No browning. :-) Also, I think you can use softened cream cheese in place of the sour cream if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is wonderful dip and good to serve at any party. I make some minor adjustments: I add the taco seasoning to the sour cream. Then instead of a chopped tomato, I add a layer of chunky salsa over the sour cream then on top of the cheese in addition to the olives and onions I add chopped pickled jalapenos. The dish is always empty when leaving a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this rules!! my son who submitted it rules!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great tasting and easy to make! I also added a few chopped jalapenos on top for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I took this dish to work for a pot luck luncheon. Everyone loved it! It was a easy dish to take and prepare. I mixed the taco seasoning with the beans... I didn't have tomatoes or guacomole, so I just used salsa in its place. Took along a bag of chips.....it was a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have been making a version of this recipe for years..layer of refried beans, then guac, then sour cream with the seasoning mixed in (no measuring, just to taste) then shredded lettuce, drained salsa, then a layer of mexican cheese, black olive, green onion and jalapeno slices sprinkled on top. I have never personally tried this (can not stand taco seasoning or black olives) but my fiance' requests this for any function, gathering...weekend. Everyone always raves about this, I am constantly asked for the recipe and there is never any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I was looking for something quick and easy to make for a party and this was an instant hit. No one realized it was meatless, but that didn't stop them from inhaling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADEEFALCN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Quick, easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States