Mexican Layered Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
My daughter made it and served it at a our family party, and I didn't even get any. I heard nothing of compliments about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was the first thing that was gone at he party! Will use over and over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyC80

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I made this for my sister in law's baby shower and it was gone in seconds! Really nice twist with the guacomole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Bellman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I used to pay $6 for this at the grocery store and would only get 1/3 of what this makes. The husband says its ten times better too! We aren't guac lovers so we left it out. Allow to set in the fridge over night or at least a few hours so the flavors have a chance to come together. This was a great recipe to involve my toddler in the kitchen. She helped mix half the taco seasoning in the refried beans and the other half in the sour cream. She was also great at sprinkling on the cheese, tomatoes and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I added taco meat as one of the layers and tomato on top for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I made this twice for two different occasions. It was wonderful. Remember to leave out the hamburger if your event is on a Friday night during lent because no one would eat it the first time since it had meat in it! The second time, it was also perfect. It takes a lot longer than the recipe says. Between browning the hamburger and letting it cool and layering everything just right, it took 45 min. to an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is really good. I made the slightest of changes in that I mixed just a bit of the taco seasoning into the refried beans & then the rest into the sour cream. Also, instead of topping it all with the guacamole, I went in this order: beans, guacamole, sour cream, shredded cheese, diced tomatoes, jalapenos. The reason for this is that the avocado browns when exposed to air. You can squirt lime juice over it to help slow it down, but it's just easier to put the guac between the beans and the sour cream. No browning. :-) Also, I think you can use softened cream cheese in place of the sour cream if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This is wonderful dip and good to serve at any party. I make some minor adjustments: I add the taco seasoning to the sour cream. Then instead of a chopped tomato, I add a layer of chunky salsa over the sour cream then on top of the cheese in addition to the olives and onions I add chopped pickled jalapenos. The dish is always empty when leaving a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
this rules!! my son who submitted it rules!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great tasting and easy to make! I also added a few chopped jalapenos on top for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Outrageous Warm Chicken Nacho Dip

Cheese dip loaded with chicken, tomatoes, black beans and a zip of spice.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States