Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This is a keeper! Very, very tasty. Very versitile as well. Instead of adding the spices, I just used a packet of taco seasonings and cooked the beef according to those directions. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to the beef. I used the tomatoes that have chili seasonings in it. I also used medium salsa. Instead of the olives, I added a 4 oz can of green chiles to the sour cream. I'm sure it would have tasted great without these changes. My husband just doesn't like olives, I LOVE diced tomatoes, and I didn't want to work so hard by adding the spices. Very easy meal. Kind of messy when done. Soooo good! My husband has already had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I mixed the refried beans and spices in the warm pan with the browned ground beef (it mixed easier as it warmed). I also precooked the noodles and omitted the water in the recipe. I layered as followed: a light layer of salsa on the bottom, noodles, meat-bean mixture, pepper-jack/monterey jack/mozza cheese mix layer, salsa. I repeated these layers, ending with a layer of noodles. I then topped it with more cheese. I baked it for 45 minutes, let it cool for 10 minutes (solidifies a bit in the pan and allows for easier cutting), and topped each serving with plain sour cream. Oh, it was so good! And even better the next day! Thanks for sharing, Popcklgal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Awesome recipe! Here are my variations. I melted the cheese THEN added the sour cream. I used spoonfuls of sour cream all over the top, sprinkled cheddar cheese and chunks of avacado and tomatoes then sprinkled with chopped green onion/olives(mostly for presentation because it looks so nice). Made according to recipe it doesn't look as presentable. I also cheated and used the taco seasoning in the filling. This is a yummy dish that can easily be altered to suit anyones taste. If you use a disposable aluminum pan (drop the heat to 325) it seems like the noodles cook better and are not gummy as in a glass baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
what a great recipe! the reviews were very helpful. i didn't have alot of time to wait for the lasagna to bake so i omitted the water and precooked the noodles for 8 minutes and baked the dish for 35 min., then the extra 5. i also improvised, instead of "salsa" i made my own with 1 can of enchilada sauce, 1 jar of taco sauce, and 1 can of semi-drained diced tomatoes. i layered the sauce along with extra grated cheese throughout and it came out so good. it was a hit with my husband and 3 year old too, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was surprisingly delicious!! Of course I made some alterations--I always do, but I think it would've been great without any changes. First of all, I used a packet of taco seasoning instead of the spices for the taco meat. It's just easier and a lot more flavorful. Secondly, I used a large can of red enchilada sauce mixed with the salsa to make a larger amount of red sauce. I then used this as a layer in addition to the noodles and beef/beans, so that the flavor permeated throughout. I poured the remaining on top before the cheese. Lastly, I topped the finished baked product with chopped tomatoes, in addition to the black olives and green onions. It really was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
We loved the taste, but the consistency of the pasta left alot to be desired. It was too good to let go of so the next time I cooked the noodles and omited the water altogether....now we're talking 5 star material! I took it to a pot luck and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a very versatile recipe. I sometimes use ground turkey sausage instead of the ground beef with good results. Also freezes well without the topping and is a wonderful make-ahead recipe just kept in the frig until you are ready to bake it. I have 4 teenaged boys and they all enjoy this recipe. I add an extra can of refried beans, use a whole box of noodles, a half cup extra of water and prepare it in a 10 X 15 pan if I have a crowd to feed. Thank you for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
I loved this recipe. It was so easy to fix and tasty. I used taco seasoning mix to season the ground beef. I also took the advice of others and put a few dollops of sour cream over the lasagna AFTER it came out of the oven instead of adding it along with the cheese. It made for a very attractive dish. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
This is a great recipe. I used a package of taco seasoning in the ground beef instead of the spices the recipe called for. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was delicious and will make again. Only thing I did different was I used the no boil noodles and cut the cook time down to an hour...wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States