Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was not very flavorful... will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegasescapee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This was a 5 with modifications. I used 2 lbs of ground beef & sauteed with a chopped white onion & taco seasoning. I added one can of diced tomates, one can Rotel, one can corn (drained), 1 can diced green chillis & one can black beans (drained). I used precooked lasagna noodles and did not use the water. I spooned the beef mixture to cover bottom of pan and layered with noodles, dolloped sour cream & refried beans, cheese & cilantro. Then repeated the layers. Cooked for 40 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORRIE123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is a good recipe, but I won't make it again - without several modifications. I still prefer the 'ol traditional "Italian" lasagna. I liked this more than my bf did (and that's one reason why I won't make it as often), especially since it calls for uncooked lasagna noodles (how easy is that?!!?!). If I do make this again, I'll add more seasoning (way too bland for me / us). I think other reviewers suggested adding a packet of taco seasoning to spice things up a bit. I used fat-free refried beans, and think that robbed the dish of some flavor (my fault). I didn't combine the onions, olives and sour cream together (my bf doesn't like sour cream or olives and I don't like olives either). I just dolloped individual servings with sour cream and garnished with green onion, and chopped tomatoes. This lasagna goes well with a tossed romaine salad with vinaigrette dressing, tortilla chips, salsa or guacamole and chocolate chip cookies for dessert. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Very good. I also used the taco seasoning. I do think you need to double the amount of meat - unless you want such thin layers. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to the meat/bean mixture. Still trying to find a way for the top to look more presentable. Otherwise tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
this was really good and filling. i added a small can of mexi-corn and used soy burger-style crumbles instead of ground beef to reduce the fat. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nzingha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lampertheim, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was good, however I made some changes as suggested by previous posts. I added taco seasoning to turkey meat, a chopped green pepper, a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles, and a can of whole kernal corn. I cooked the refried beans with the turkey meat. When layering I added cheese to each layer. Next time I will use black beans instead of refried beans and either mix some salsa with the meat or pour some on each layer instead of just the top layer per the recipe. Overall, good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This was a good recipe. I used D's Famous Salsa, leftover from the Chicken Salad Wraps a few nights ago. It ended up being almost to runny. I think next time, I'll forgo the 2.5c of water, and just use the salsa. Otherwise, a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANNE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My husband and I enjoyed this new twist on regular lasagna. I reduced the recipe to six servings and put it in an 8X8X2 inch pan. I used a full can of refried beans to make the layers a little thicker and added a small amount of shredded cheddar cheese to each layer. I also used taco seasoning instead of the other seasonings and supplemented that with a sprinkle of cajun seasoning and garlic powder. As recommended by another reviewer, I soaked the lasagna noodles for twenty minutes which reduced the overall baking time to approximately 45 minutes. I'll likely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This was VERY good!!! We messed up a little bit, but this recipe is so good that it can be tweeked or changed in many different ways and it still tastes excellent! I will definitely be eating this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was very good . my whole family enjoyed it. I did add the half a can of tomatoe sauce to refried beans as well as diced tomatoes and added the rest to the salsa mixture. I may try using tortillas instead of lasagna noodles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States