Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Not bad. Substituted the spices (cumin, oregano, and garlic powder) with taco seasoning for the beef mixture. Adds more zest to the meat mixture. Next time will try to add more cheese between the layers as I can’t get enough cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I followed the advice of the other reviews, and I'm glad I did. I used taco seasoning mix and I didin't precook my noodles. I cut my cooking time to 35-40 mins. I also don't use the pepper jack cheese. I use marble jack. With the changes the end result was terrific. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Very good. I toned down the spiciness (colby-jack cheese instead of pepper jack) so my kids would eat it. I also used my homemade salsa. Yummy! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and I cooked the noodles before I layered it. This helped it to cook much faster, pretty much just needed heated up. I did go ahead and cover it with foil for awhile also, then took it off towards the end of the cooking time. I also didn't have green onions, so I chopped up some regular onion and put it into the beef and beans mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERIEO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goddard, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Very good and versatile. Cooking the noodles a bit first and omitting the water/shortening the cook time was an excellent idea. I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a big can of diced chile/tomatos for a little extra kick. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was very good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and made some changes. I added a can of diced tomatoes to the beef/bean mixture. Also, I used a packet of taco seasoning mix instead of the individual spices. I boiled the noodles first and omitted the water. And finally, I doubled the cheese and put some over the first layer of the beef mix as well as on top of the casserole - you can't have too much cheese! My husband really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I followed the advice of previous users and the recipe turned out great! I even made an extra batch, froze it, and had the same success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I doubled the beef, beans and salsa. Loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
We loved the taste, but the consistency of the pasta left alot to be desired. It was too good to let go of so the next time I cooked the noodles and omited the water altogether....now we're talking 5 star material! I took it to a pot luck and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
My husband absolutely loves this dish. I double the salsa and cheese and add jalapeno slices to the top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Excellent! I used medium salsa and it gave it just the right kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States