Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This recipe was a hit with my husband and his parents. Next time I make it I think I'm going to leave out the salsa and serve it on the side. It was a little overbearing for my taste. I'm also going to add more refried beans to the mix. I didn't use the black olives and I precooked the noodles, eliminating the water. The sour cream and green onions added great flavor to the dish. Overall, terrific dish for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
family loved it but it needs alot more noodles try 18 not 12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This was a good recipe with these changes: I pre-cooked the noodles, used taco seasoning in place of the spices recommended, and used more cheese than what the original recipe called for. It could have been spicier for my taste; next time I will use medium or hot salsa instead of mild and add some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This was just okay. I used oven-ready lasagna noodles to cut back on cooking time. It was tasty,,but just didn't "WOW" us like so many other recipes here. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This was good however, I made some changes. To cut the cooking time, I used oven-ready lasagna noodles (this cuts cooking time to 45 minutes). Since this was oven-ready, I did not add the water. I also doubled the refried beans to two cans. Next time I'm going to try using black beans in lieu of the regular refried beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I thought this was a nice change from regular lasagna. I too precooked the noodles. I layered the salsa with the other ingredients, including about 1 cup of extra Monterey Jack cheese. My husband raved about the taste of this and went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Not bad. Substituted the spices (cumin, oregano, and garlic powder) with taco seasoning for the beef mixture. Adds more zest to the meat mixture. Next time will try to add more cheese between the layers as I can’t get enough cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I followed the advice of the other reviews, and I'm glad I did. I used taco seasoning mix and I didin't precook my noodles. I cut my cooking time to 35-40 mins. I also don't use the pepper jack cheese. I use marble jack. With the changes the end result was terrific. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Very good. I toned down the spiciness (colby-jack cheese instead of pepper jack) so my kids would eat it. I also used my homemade salsa. Yummy! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and I cooked the noodles before I layered it. This helped it to cook much faster, pretty much just needed heated up. I did go ahead and cover it with foil for awhile also, then took it off towards the end of the cooking time. I also didn't have green onions, so I chopped up some regular onion and put it into the beef and beans mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERIEO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goddard, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Very good and versatile. Cooking the noodles a bit first and omitting the water/shortening the cook time was an excellent idea. I added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a big can of diced chile/tomatos for a little extra kick. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States