Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Excellent! I was surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is delicious! The few things I do different is prepare the noodles according to directions on box, put a very thin layer of salsa in the bottom of pan, then a layer of noodles, layer of meat/bean mixture, layer of cheese, repeat those layers and then end with a plain layer of noodles on top. I ever so slightly water down the remaining salsa (just enough that it spreads a little easier) and top the noodles with that. Since the noodles are already boiled, it only takes 35 minutes to bake, then remove from oven to top with sour cream and cheese and return to oven for 10 minutes. Best if left to cool for at least 10 to 20 minutes before serving so it solidifies a little and makes cutting easier. DELICIOUS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicarae
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was delicious. I grated a whole block of pepper jack for the top layer and added more sour cream and olives to cover the whole pan below that. I will make this again. My fiancé loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty. The noodles were a little weird. I'm going to try tortillas next time. I used a smaller dish so I used less ingredients. I added cheddar cheese to each layer. You can't have too much cheese. The filling would be awesome in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I would really give it closer to 4.5 stars because ultimately this is a great recipe; however, I-for taste preference-recommend leaving out the sour cream from the 'heating/melting topping' stage. Thank you for another great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This was just okay for my family. It really tastes like a cheap meal. Maybe it's because I do a lot of cooking with lots of veggies. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This came out great! I love anything pasta/Italian and my wife loves all things Mexican. What a cool combo. I did make a few tweaks. I boiled my noodles (al dente). I browned the beef (we're vegetarian so I actually used faux beef - worked awesome), added taco seasoning (followed taco season directions), and then added/mixed refried beans to meat in skillet. Then in a bowl I mixed 2 16oz jars of salsa, 1 can of red chilli enchilada sauce, and about 1/4 of jar of taco sauce - used this as my "sauce." Then I simply layered noodles, meat/beans, sauce, and mexi shredded cheese (used 4 cup bag) like I would if it was a regular lasagna. Baked @ 350 for 45min. covered with tin foil. Uncovered and baked another 10min. I then used the sour cream and green onion mixture as a chilled topping per serving. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used tortillas in place of lasagna noodles. Easier to stack, making this a quick dinner. Mexican oregano is a great spice for this - also a great opportunity to use up some leftover charred BBQ corn... Didn't use water - the salsa is plenty liquid. Add some green chilies for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeeSep
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was a pretty easy recipe to follow as well as alter and enjoy. We used all ingredients as followed only omitting the olives and using light sour cream and whole wheat lasagna. I made the beef and beans mixture and included taco seasoning along with the seasons called for. I layered each layer with pepper jack slices and topped it off with A Mexican blend shredded cheese (Monterey Jack, cheddar). I added 1 1/2 cup of water and a 8oz can of salsa. All of it came out nicely and yummy. It was a hit and will save to make again. I think next time I will add salsa to the bottom to give my pasta moisture down there as well as in the middle. My pasta was a little burned but that was my fault. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I agree, this was surprisingly delicious! Unless you feel like an arm workout, while the beef drains heat the beans in the same pan with the spices, then add the meat once hot. Unlike most reviewers, my family enjoyed the light flavoring of the bean/beef mixture. I did not boil the noodles but instead of pouring the salsa/water mixture over the top, I added it between each layer. I wanted to freeze most of this, so I did not put the sour cream on at the end, instead dressing each piece with some. We will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States