Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was surprisingly delicious!! Of course I made some alterations--I always do, but I think it would've been great without any changes. First of all, I used a packet of taco seasoning instead of the spices for the taco meat. It's just easier and a lot more flavorful. Secondly, I used a large can of red enchilada sauce mixed with the salsa to make a larger amount of red sauce. I then used this as a layer in addition to the noodles and beef/beans, so that the flavor permeated throughout. I poured the remaining on top before the cheese. Lastly, I topped the finished baked product with chopped tomatoes, in addition to the black olives and green onions. It really was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcarolinecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Love the recipe. Quick prep and delicious. Add guacamole on the side for a delicious accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I followed this recipe almost exactly. The only thing I changed is that I served the sour cream on the side (hot sour cream, ewww). Made it for cinco de Mayo. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I mixed the refried beans and spices in the warm pan with the browned ground beef (it mixed easier as it warmed). I also precooked the noodles and omitted the water in the recipe. I layered as followed: a light layer of salsa on the bottom, noodles, meat-bean mixture, pepper-jack/monterey jack/mozza cheese mix layer, salsa. I repeated these layers, ending with a layer of noodles. I then topped it with more cheese. I baked it for 45 minutes, let it cool for 10 minutes (solidifies a bit in the pan and allows for easier cutting), and topped each serving with plain sour cream. Oh, it was so good! And even better the next day! Thanks for sharing, Popcklgal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Great recipe! Totally easy and really delicious. I added half an onion, a can of green chiles, and also used the taco seasoning instead of all the listed spices. Worked great! Definitely a new staple in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This was great! I made this for dinner tonight and got rave reviews. I used taco seasoning in lieu of the spices and instead of salsa, I used Tabasco chili mix and cut some water out. Yummy! I think next time I'll do cheese in between the layers as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was pretty good, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaToNikolas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was a terrific recipe. Like most reviewers, I substituted taco seasoning for the spices and served the sour cream on the side. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. We all came back for seconds. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Very good. I was nervous about the dry lasagna noodles so I cooked them first and skipped adding the water to the recipe. My family enjoyed this almost as must as traditional lasagna. I think next time I might mix the sour cream with some ricotta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
What a clever idea. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States