Mexican Lasagna Lite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I was trying to use up all the groceries I actually had in the house before going to the store and came across this recipe when I plugged refried beans into the ingredient search. I used ground chuck, made my own taco seasoning and enchilada sauce, and combined mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead of using the Mexican blend. I also used only 9 corn tortillas. To make things easier, I spread the refried beans onto the tortillas as I laid them in the pan. This turned out quite good. No one would ever believe I was toward the end of my groceries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Used shredded slow cooker pork loin--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is so tasty. We used no bake lasagna noodles because we don't like corn tortillas which worked out ok (they didn't totally rehydrate even though we made a good effort to cover every piece with sauce. We only had 1 can of enchilada sauce but that was plenty. The hubby branded this 'instant classic'. Oh, and it only made us 3 servings, not 6 :(. Also spread the refried beans with an offset spatula onto the lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I used whole wheat tortillas. This dish got twelve thumbs up at my house and it was voted as a keeper and a rerun!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
LOVE IT!!!!!very big hit in the family! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe that can easily be doubled or more to make a tasty dish to take to a potluck. Depending on the enchilada sauce and the seasonings, this can have a nice amount of "heat" which is tempered by the sour cream. I spread the beans on the tortillas before placing them in the pan. Once I had all the bean-covered tortillas in place, I scooped sour cream on top and spread around with a spatula. Did all the rest of the layering from there. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I make this often but incorporate a Spanish rice with red/black beans into the ground beef/turkey and top with sliced jalepenos on top layer of cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I tried this weekend and loved it - even had seconds - something I rarely do. I did not add the chiles (have an allergy) but the flavor combo was great. Used a tip of spreading the refried beans like peanut butter and it helped. The textures are difficult to spread without a spatula (I finally figured that out), it smelled great and tasted even better. Made this at a sick friends home and I will make in individual casseroles so I can enjoy it often as I live alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Good meal, used chicken instead of turkey. Used tortillas, nachos, and Doritos because I didn't have all the cheeses needed. Baked for 40 minutes at 375 to get everything nice and hot together and added the top layer of cheese in the last 3 minutes of baking so it wouldn't get crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I wanted to use up some leftover turkey so I shredded it and heated up with a can of rotel, garlic,cumin, chile powder, and creole seasoning instead of the ground turkey and taco seasoning. Came out great! Probably went heavier on the cheese than original recipe but came out great! Oh, I also added finely chopped raw onion in my layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States