Mexican Lasagna Lite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Why use low-fat on this dish? Use what tastes good and enjoy a smaller portion. I have made this dish for years (called it "stacked Enchiladas")using beef or pulled pork, green enchilada sauce or red but I never compromised flavor for low-fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madhatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I used whole wheat tortillas. This dish got twelve thumbs up at my house and it was voted as a keeper and a rerun!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Used shredded slow cooker pork loin--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I like this lighter version of a Mexican lasagna, people that would like it full fat should not be harsh on the cook that gave this recipe, just make it your way, really liked the dish, thank-you to the cook, I'm proud of you for sticking to your style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe that can easily be doubled or more to make a tasty dish to take to a potluck. Depending on the enchilada sauce and the seasonings, this can have a nice amount of "heat" which is tempered by the sour cream. I spread the beans on the tortillas before placing them in the pan. Once I had all the bean-covered tortillas in place, I scooped sour cream on top and spread around with a spatula. Did all the rest of the layering from there. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This tasted really good for a low fat recipe. I had a little trouble spreading the beans maybe next time i will spread it on each tortilla before layering. I also added green onions on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I was trying to use up all the groceries I actually had in the house before going to the store and came across this recipe when I plugged refried beans into the ingredient search. I used ground chuck, made my own taco seasoning and enchilada sauce, and combined mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead of using the Mexican blend. I also used only 9 corn tortillas. To make things easier, I spread the refried beans onto the tortillas as I laid them in the pan. This turned out quite good. No one would ever believe I was toward the end of my groceries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Fabulous! a great recipe however you like it, w/full fat ingredients as the recipes contributor noted can be swapped in per your preference. I find myself making it with some lower fat ingredients, and some full... but thats the way we like it. I don't race around focused on being "fit" 24-7 and I don't completely ignore the fact that healthy eating and living translates into a longer life. That said, for those in either extremist camp.. enjoy what you want but don't make me suffer your lifestyle preaching. I have my own and LOVE it! and I love this recipe. for a slight change try flour tortillas, and if you use the larger ones, they're easily cut and arranged to fit whatever pan/dish you use. I've even tried in a bundt pan! that was fun! Thanks for posting the recipe Katherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was very tasty, however, I am glad I didn't open the second can of sauce. As it was very saucy with just one 12oz can of enchilada sauce. I actually baked it an extra 15 minutes until I had bubbles in the middle and the cheese was browned around the edges. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
you can use flour tortillas if you would rather and use a layer of mozarella cheese in the middle. can substitute salsa for the chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States