Mexican Lasagna Lite Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Why use low-fat on this dish? Use what tastes good and enjoy a smaller portion. I have made this dish for years (called it "stacked Enchiladas")using beef or pulled pork, green enchilada sauce or red but I never compromised flavor for low-fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madhatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Used shredded slow cooker pork loin--delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I used whole wheat tortillas. This dish got twelve thumbs up at my house and it was voted as a keeper and a rerun!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I like this lighter version of a Mexican lasagna, people that would like it full fat should not be harsh on the cook that gave this recipe, just make it your way, really liked the dish, thank-you to the cook, I'm proud of you for sticking to your style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe that can easily be doubled or more to make a tasty dish to take to a potluck. Depending on the enchilada sauce and the seasonings, this can have a nice amount of "heat" which is tempered by the sour cream. I spread the beans on the tortillas before placing them in the pan. Once I had all the bean-covered tortillas in place, I scooped sour cream on top and spread around with a spatula. Did all the rest of the layering from there. Easy peasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I was trying to use up all the groceries I actually had in the house before going to the store and came across this recipe when I plugged refried beans into the ingredient search. I used ground chuck, made my own taco seasoning and enchilada sauce, and combined mozzarella and cheddar cheese instead of using the Mexican blend. I also used only 9 corn tortillas. To make things easier, I spread the refried beans onto the tortillas as I laid them in the pan. This turned out quite good. No one would ever believe I was toward the end of my groceries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This tasted really good for a low fat recipe. I had a little trouble spreading the beans maybe next time i will spread it on each tortilla before layering. I also added green onions on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This was very tasty, however, I am glad I didn't open the second can of sauce. As it was very saucy with just one 12oz can of enchilada sauce. I actually baked it an extra 15 minutes until I had bubbles in the middle and the cheese was browned around the edges. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I make this WITHOUT the beans and WITH stewed chicken or ground beef simply because I hate ground turkey; if I were to use that, I'd use a mixture of 1/2 turkey and 1/2 ground beef. I've also made it "my way" with cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup instead of the enchilada sauce (during the days when such ingredients weren't readily available), and if you run the soup through a blender with yet another can of chilis, it will make a good green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is so tasty. We used no bake lasagna noodles because we don't like corn tortillas which worked out ok (they didn't totally rehydrate even though we made a good effort to cover every piece with sauce. We only had 1 can of enchilada sauce but that was plenty. The hubby branded this 'instant classic'. Oh, and it only made us 3 servings, not 6 :(. Also spread the refried beans with an offset spatula onto the lasagna noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States