Mexican Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Excellent week night meal, I add a layer of chunky salsa to this as well, and top with sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lita lee
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I made a mini in a 6 inch cake pan, thinking I needed the support, but after it was done, I could see all the layers stayed in place really well, so next time I will just assemble and bake and serve on something flat like an ovenable plate. I used 4 six inch tortillas which made 3 layers with 12 ounces of ground beef and chopped onion and garlic. No taco seasoning, so I used chili powder, cumin, red chili flakes, salt, pepper, and some water and tomato powder to make meat moist. I layered the meat with sliced tomato and queso cheese, topping with sliced tomato and cheese. It was delicious, and made 4 servings. Nice layering when cut, and you can cut it with a fork. Will most definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I agree, good base recipe. I make this quite often, family favorite. When I make this I use 1 1/2 cups of salsa added to the meat along with the taco seasoning; add 3 tsps of Adobo as well. I use the refried beans on one layer only, usually the middle one topped with pepper jack cheese, for this size I use 6 flour tortillas-medium size. Black olives & sour cream are good topper along with slices of fresh avacados!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1848

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I have to say this is really good! Only thing I did different was I left out the green onion and I added a can of drained diced tomatoes to the bean mixture. And it was even better the next day!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My family loved this ... It will be added to the list of frequent recipes for a weekday dinner. Easy & Very tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
OK, I cannot believe that no one sticks to the original recipes. well, I too made some changes like:I didn't use refried beans and instead of tortilla I used lasagna noodles and instead of taco seasoning I used Italian seasoning and instead of salsa I used Italian red sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Made this for a family gathering this past weekend. I added a few spices per reviews and rotel tomatoes, along with cutting down the refried beans to one can. Although the flavor was good, the top layer with the cheese on it made it difficult to cut. I think it needs a little of the meat mixture on top, or maybe some enchilada sauce underneath the top cheese layer so it's not to dry. With all the good reviews I was just a little disappointed in how it turnout. Not sure if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I really enjoyed this dish! So yummy and filling! I actually cooked the green onions and tomatoes right with it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coutain
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Great dish. I added some other touches as others recommended. I sautéed 1 small onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic, salt & pepper. As the meat was browning, I added onion powder, Goya All-Purpose Seasoning w/out pepper, cumin, 2 cilantro bullion cubes. I followed the directions on the taco seasoning package (mix 3/4 cup of water & taco seasoning). Instead of water, I used beef stock and 1 can of beans. I then added the chopped tomatoes and let it all simmer for about 5 min. I used bow tie pasta only because I didn't have any tortillas on hand. I layered the dish with the meat sauce on the pan, pasta, meat sauce, cheese. I repeated the layer 1 more time. I found there wasn't enough meat to cover it all. I would probably use 1 1/2 lb beef next time. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaiimeshele
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I love this. This is the first time i tried it and i am absolutely going to do this again! It tastes great with sour cream and salsa! Taco sauce and avacados may make it better also! But definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States