Mexican Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I cut the amount of water in half (I thought it might end up mushy) and it worked out really well. Sometimes I add corn kernals to the mean/bean mixture. I recommened using ready-to-bake lasagna noodles. My family loves this meal! Even my 5 year old ate her whole plate! Still tastes great heated up for lunch the next day. REMEMBER TO CUT THE WATER FROM 2 CUPS TO 1 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is exactly like our family recipe, and it is a hit every time, with everyone who's ever had it. My favorite thing about it is that it is SO simple. You don't have to brown beef, or cook noodles ahead of time - just put it together and pop it in the oven! I always make it exactly like instructed. One tip to make it even simpler - instead of measuring out or buying the spices, just add a packet of taco seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timbertiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, Montana, USA
Living In: Superior, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
We loved this recipe! It was an instant hit. I did make the suggested changes, used 1 cup of water and added cheese at each level. My husband hates olives, so we added black beans instead and it tasted great! We also added HOT taco seasoning to the beef and pre-cooked the beef because we like spicy recipes. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This was great tasting, but I wasn't sure about the beef. Was I supposed to cook it before or during? I pre-cooked it. It didn't state anything about that in the recipe. Also, you should double all the ingredients or your not going to have enough to cover your 9x13 pan, or you could use an 8x8x2. This did taste really good. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Took others advice using taco seasoning, pre-cooking the noodles, omitting the water, adding a can of diced tomatoes, using 2 cups of shredded pepper jack cheese for more kick. Turned out delicious! Very easy recipe to substitute with what you have on hand and alter according to personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Made this last night. It was a huge hit! I did make a few minor changes. I browned the beef with a large chopped onion. Instead of the seasonings, I added two pkgs. of taco seasoning and a teaspoon of red pepper flakes and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I made 3 layers instead of two.(15 noodles). I also added about a quarter of a cup of chunky salsa to the beef itself to make it just a littlt bit moister. Instead of piquante sauce, I again used the salsa.I used four cups of cheese instead of three. One cup between each noodle layer and one for the top the during the last 5-10 minutes of cooking time. It is important to let the lasagne rest about 20 minutes to allow for easier cutting. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Very good, very easy. I made mine with taco seasoning the second time because it needed a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
LOVE IT! I MADE THIS DISH FOR A POT LUCK MEXICAN BIRTHDAY DINNER AT WORK AND EVERONE HAD ONLY GOOD THINGS TO SAY ABOUT THIS DISH. I WILL BE MAKING IT AGAIN AND AGAIN. I DID DOUBLE THE MEAT AND BEANS IN THIS RECIPE AND ADDED ONE PKG OF TACO SEASONING TO MEAT AFTER BROWNING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
THIS IS DELICIOUS! It doesn't cut too well because all the juices make it a little bit sloppy- but I don't mind. If you want to bake it in half an hour: Cook the beef and beans in a pan and add half a can of tomato sauce. I also add salt and then half a packet of taco seasoning for flavor instead of the seasonings. I used the thin lasagne noodles and cooked them till al dente then layer all the stuff. I added tomato and olives to each level, as well as cheese. Cooked until the top noodles were crispy and then added more cheese and olives, and tomato sauce (hunts canned traditional) to make it super juicy and moist. THUMBS UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
A real crowd pleaser! I do add some chopped fresh cilantro to the sour cream mixture. I never bring any home and I'm always asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States