Mexican Lasagna I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Anything mexican goes over very well in our house and this was no exception. Great Janae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My husband wants this one made again and he doesn't request that very often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
This is an easy recipe that tastes very good. As others noted use only 1 cup of water instead of 2 as it says and the consistency is perfect. For my husband and I, next time I will add a can of jalapenos because we like spicier food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was my family's favorite dinner out of all of the recipes.com recipes I've made. I did add only one cup of water as suggested in other reviews. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This recipe was awesome. I made it for a "Mexican" dish potluck. I prepared it last night (using only 1 cup water as the reviews suggested), and re-heated it today. It was a hit! Thanks Janae for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I thought this was a great dish. I made it with ground turkey instead of beef, and I did not precook the meat- it turned out fine. I also used all 2 cups of water called for, and layered the salsa/water mixture on top of each layer instead of all on top, thought it would cook the noodles better. That also worked well, and it did not turn out soupy at all. When I took it out of the oven to put the cheese on, it looked a little watery, but after I cooked it another 10 minutes and let it cool, there was no excess water to be found. Did not use cumin, didn't have any. Didn't turn out too spicy, which was good for my spice-sensitive family. Thanks!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I followed other allreciper's advice and only used 1 cup of water, but this recipe is quite tasty! I put some picante between all the layers instead of just on top and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
This was excellent. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I made some changes. I followed the advice of some others and cut the water down to only 1 cup. I also eliminated the spices and cooked the meat with a packet of taco seasoning then added an additional 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of chili powder. I also substituted chopped green chilis and fresh scallions for the olives. The meal came out perfect. Also, I noticed that the number of servings listed as 6 servings, this will serve alot more and is perfect for potlucks. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Excellent dish! I halfed the water to 1 cup and added a packet of taco seasoning to the ground beef. I also added one can of Mexican Rotel tomatoes just to spice it up a dish. I will definitely make this dish again. Hubby was talking about this dish for days and said it's now on his "top 5" requests for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This was actually a really good dish. My boyfriend gave this recipe a "thumbs up". I made the recipe low fat by using extra lean beef, fat free cheese, and fat free refried beans. I also added chili powder to give it extra spice. i had read on other reviews to cut the water in half and I tried that but the noodles started to become hard so I had to add the rest of the water. The mixture did come out a little watery but it was easy to solve-I just poured out the excess water and everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States