Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was really easy to make. I couldn't find corn tortillas, so I used whole wheat. I also used a can of refried beans as the first layer on the tortillas. A can of Aylmer Accent diced tomatoes with chillies adds enough heat and fresh salsa and pepper jack cheese on top made this dish incredible. Super yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
great! Added another layer with beans and cheese and used 2 cups of cheese instead. Will make again but plan to put some crunched tortilla chips on top for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aris Ervin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Um.....yum! I made a version of this for a New Years eve get together at a friend's house. Everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, added a chopped jalepeno, cup of corn and a cup of black beans to the meat mixture. I used corn and flour tortillas together as a layer, I added layers of refried beans. All together I used over 2 cups of mont jack cheese. Served with nachos, quac and sour cream! Delicious! Thanks the the idea! I rated it a 4 but really before my changes, it's probably a 2.5-3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My guys loved this!! Not that its hard to please them!:) The leftovers were even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it! I am a casserole person. This was quick and easy. I used two lbs of ground beef, 2 pkgs taco seasoning, 1 can spicy refried beans, 1 can of rotel and 1 can of mexi-style corn and flour tortilla. I slathered 1/2 of the beans on 2 of the flour tortillas and put them on the bottom of the greased 4.5 x 9 casserole dish. browned the meat with peppers (red & jalepeno) and onion, drained the fat off, added the taco seasonings, the rotel, a cup of water and the drained corn until heated through. They I layered 1/2 the ground beef mix on top of the tortillas and beans. added another layer of tortillas and beans the rest of the ground beef mix and then topped with cheese. backed for .5 hour at 375 degrees. Now while the changes I made do make some difference it should not be as much as you would think. Anyway we loved it! Thanks for the recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I used 2 cups of cheese and added some black beans. I also made three layers of tortillas. Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This lasagna tasted great. My husband loved it! The only disappointment to me was the fact that the tortillas disintegrated in the dish. All the mexican tastes were there, just the texture of the tortillas was missing. I did add a chopped onion and tubed cilantro while browning the meat, yellow hominy, and more colby cheese, then topped with sliced green onion. I'll have to do some experimenting with the tortillas for a better outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Delicious quick meal!! I used ground turkey and wheat tortillas to make it a little more healthful and it was still great!! I also mixed green onions in the meat mixture for extra flavor. Topped it off with enchilada sauce, green onion and melted cheese..YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used a 10 oz can of rotel in place of the can of diced tomatoes. I also followed other recommendations to add onion to the beef while it's cooking, then stir in some refried beans. With the gluten-free taco seasoning from Trader Joe's, this dish was HOT! My hubby and I both enjoyed it and are taking the leftovers in our lunchboxes tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Loved this! I followed other's suggestions and added a couple of layers. I added onions, garlic powder and a can of chopped mild peppers to the ground beef. I spread refried beans on top of the first layer of tortillas. I made it in this order: tortillas, refried beans, beef, cheese, tortillas, beef cheese, tortillas, salsa and cheese. I also used almost 4 cups of cheese! I topped mine with a little bit of sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States