Mexican Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I don't know what I was expecting but I thought the tortillas were too "mushy". I added corn, black beans, garlic, onions and cumin/seasonings. It had good flavor but the consistency wasn't what I thought it would be. However, the family loved it. Served it with hubby's guacamole. Thought this was a good basic recipe and maybe I'll play around with flour tortillas or different corn tortillas to see if that makes a difference. It's too hard to find a recipe that everyone will eat so won't give up on it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This recipe is awesome as is, but did take some reviewers advice and added refried beans, more meat and black olives. This is awesome comfort food! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinfwin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weare, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Amazing! So flavorful. Not to mention quick and easy, and budget friendly. The only changes I made was adding two layers of corn, and I used mozzarella because that's all I had. Everyone loved it. And even my extremely picky four year old declared this to be the "best dinner ever". That means something, because we only get to hear this about once a year. Everything else he hates. Leftovers were also delicious warmed up in the microwave. The leftovers did not make it through the night. I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This was really easy to make. I couldn't find corn tortillas, so I used whole wheat. I also used a can of refried beans as the first layer on the tortillas. A can of Aylmer Accent diced tomatoes with chillies adds enough heat and fresh salsa and pepper jack cheese on top made this dish incredible. Super yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
great! Added another layer with beans and cheese and used 2 cups of cheese instead. Will make again but plan to put some crunched tortilla chips on top for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Um.....yum! I made a version of this for a New Years eve get together at a friend's house. Everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, added a chopped jalepeno, cup of corn and a cup of black beans to the meat mixture. I used corn and flour tortillas together as a layer, I added layers of refried beans. All together I used over 2 cups of mont jack cheese. Served with nachos, quac and sour cream! Delicious! Thanks the the idea! I rated it a 4 but really before my changes, it's probably a 2.5-3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
My guys loved this!! Not that its hard to please them!:) The leftovers were even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Loved it! I am a casserole person. This was quick and easy. I used two lbs of ground beef, 2 pkgs taco seasoning, 1 can spicy refried beans, 1 can of rotel and 1 can of mexi-style corn and flour tortilla. I slathered 1/2 of the beans on 2 of the flour tortillas and put them on the bottom of the greased 4.5 x 9 casserole dish. browned the meat with peppers (red & jalepeno) and onion, drained the fat off, added the taco seasonings, the rotel, a cup of water and the drained corn until heated through. They I layered 1/2 the ground beef mix on top of the tortillas and beans. added another layer of tortillas and beans the rest of the ground beef mix and then topped with cheese. backed for .5 hour at 375 degrees. Now while the changes I made do make some difference it should not be as much as you would think. Anyway we loved it! Thanks for the recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I used 2 cups of cheese and added some black beans. I also made three layers of tortillas. Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This lasagna tasted great. My husband loved it! The only disappointment to me was the fact that the tortillas disintegrated in the dish. All the mexican tastes were there, just the texture of the tortillas was missing. I did add a chopped onion and tubed cilantro while browning the meat, yellow hominy, and more colby cheese, then topped with sliced green onion. I'll have to do some experimenting with the tortillas for a better outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States