Mexican Halibut Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was scrumptious - I grew up in Alaska and have eaten halibut cooked many, many ways - so I truly enjoyed the flavors. Changes I made are: Used 1/3 cup of each 3/4 cup ingredient. Grated fresh lemon zest and sprinked cracked pepper on halibut instead of lemon pepper. For the salsa, I used some leftover homemade tomatilla salsa...wonderful - can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Neither hubs nor I enjoyed this. The topping is rather flavorless, and serves only to keep the fish kind of "wet." A sauce should enhance the food it accompanies, not dominate or bury it. Some ideas to improve this would be to bake, grill or broil the fish separately, then serve the sauce on the side. As for the sauce itself, it needs some flavor additions - chile powder, jalapeno or bell peppers maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Really enjoyed this recipe. Have lots of Halibut from an Alaskian fishing trip and tired of the traditional way of cooking fish. I will be making this again only I think I may use just the cracked pepper instead of the lemon pepper or maybe cut down on the lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Used orange roughy. Per other suggestions I changed everything that was 3/4 to 1/3 and the amount of sauce was perfect! No garlic oil so I substituted about 2 cloves of minced garlic. FH and picky teen devoured it! It is a keeper. TY for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YayHeaven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
great recipe! We added about 1/2 cup of cheese and once it was cooked, it was great over fettucini noodles :) I think we might add some crab meat to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Yum! Would be good with chicken too. Makes a lot of sauce, so you could cut down on the sauce, or add more fish or chicken. I think the sauce served cold would make a good dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I agree with Naples 34102. There were some problems with this recipe - nothing exciting about, generally. The only positive thing that I can say about this recipe was that the fish was moist. I may try this recipe again with some changes, as my husband seemed to like it. Suggestions: I would suggest reducing the general amount of marinade/sauce mixture, as it thinned out considerably when it cooked, and didn't seem to reconstitute, even with resting. It seemed to work better as a 'leftovers' dish. I added some roasted garlic, onions and julienned red bell peppers. Next time, I would also leave out the butter, as the recipe seemed to call for an awful lot of it, and it didn't seem to really help the overall outcome. I would also suggest using this as a marinade, rather than a sauce. The next time I make this, I am going to try it 'en papiotte'. I am hoping that the next time, this will be a more successful dish. I am willing to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Recipe was quite good. It had a little bit of fishy taste, but my dad and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I liked this recipe, for a different easy recipe. My hubby did not like it, but he is a picky eater. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Delicious and easy to make. I had some sauce leftover, so we put it on our salad as salad dressing. It tasted good there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States