Mexican Halibut Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
This was scrumptious - I grew up in Alaska and have eaten halibut cooked many, many ways - so I truly enjoyed the flavors. Changes I made are: Used 1/3 cup of each 3/4 cup ingredient. Grated fresh lemon zest and sprinked cracked pepper on halibut instead of lemon pepper. For the salsa, I used some leftover homemade tomatilla salsa...wonderful - can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I made this with haddock instead. I only used a pound. I used 1/2 cup salsa and 3/4 cup fat free sour cream and 1/4 cup mayo. It was good. I made too much sauce and the sour cream taste was a little strong. Next time I will try using 1/2 cup salsa and 1/4 cup sour cream and no mayo and see how that works. I served with yellow rice which I added some chopped veggies to. Good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This is an excellent and simple recipe. The flavor will go with almost any vegatable. You can substitute chicken breast pre-cooked in a little butter, for the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Five stars on this! I have a similar recipe (which we love) that does not have the salsa as an ingredient...but we enjoyed this just as much. Incidentally, I made this with salmon, rather than halibut. Terrific recipe. Thx, Candie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This was awesome! Just the right amount of zip! If you like em spicy, you might want to add hot salsa. I also used low fat sour cream. My husband loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I cut the mayo, yogart and salsa to 1/3 cup each. The yogart and mayo were both "light". To the mix I added a little dill and paprika. I added slivered almonds to the top. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
great recipe! We added about 1/2 cup of cheese and once it was cooked, it was great over fettucini noodles :) I think we might add some crab meat to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This recipe is a good start. It needs more of something to make it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Really enjoyed this recipe. Have lots of Halibut from an Alaskian fishing trip and tired of the traditional way of cooking fish. I will be making this again only I think I may use just the cracked pepper instead of the lemon pepper or maybe cut down on the lemon pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Delicious and easy to make. I had some sauce leftover, so we put it on our salad as salad dressing. It tasted good there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States