Mexican Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Very good. Did make a few changes. Used closer to 2# of ground beef, drained with the chopped onion. Didn't drain the corn or the beans. Added a tiny can of diced chilies. Also added about a cup of beef broth. Brought all of that to a boil and then dumped the elbows in uncooked. Let it simmer for 15 min or so and then added the cheese. Mmmm. I actually used the Mexican flavored Velveeta. Gave it a nice kick but still creamy. This way it is a one-pot meal! We enjoyed this very much and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mystix
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a quick and easy dish, just what I was looking for tonight. I made one change: instead of salsa and Velveeta, I added 3/4 of a jar of 23oz Tostito's queso dip. My 13 month old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This dish was wonderful! I had all the neighborhood kids come over to ask for some! I omitted the corn (not a corn lover) and added more cheese. Then I garnished it with sour cream, cheese, guacamole & tomatoes. It's definately wonderful either way. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and it was wonderful. I scaled it down to 3 servings and added 2 Tblsp taco seasoning mix only because we like spicy. This is a keeper. I used American cheese only because I didn't have the Velveeta and it was yummy. Served it with a toss salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
we used the "all-in-one-pot" method with tostitos queso and beef broth...tasty...a little too much kick for the younger ones...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tim and cj murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! It is one of the few recipes that my entire family will eat. I don't always keep Velveeta on hand, so I have used cream cheese and a bit of shredded cheddar in place. Still yummy, cheesy and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I don't think the name goulash quite fit this dish but it had a nice little kick to it from the salsa and it was a hit with the family. Made lots for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Loved this dish! I found this tonite after realizing I had Salsa but no Spaghetti Sauce. I followed it pretty much exact except substituted 1/4 can of tomatos with green chilis instead of corn. It added just enough heat (if you want more heat you can add more tomatos). I also used whole grain penne pasta. Will make this again- Thanks Tonja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is a very good dish. We loved it. It has a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very good, almost a one-pot complete meal. Kid-friendly, too. I made this with gluten-free pasta. I used a prepackaged shredded Mexican cheese blend instead of the Velveeta, and threw in some diced seasoned canned tomatoes with the salsa just because I had some left over in the fridge. Next time I think I'll add some sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States