Mexican Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
From Wikipedia: "In the 1980s, Velveeta used the advertising jingle, "Colby, Swiss and Cheddar, blended all together" in its US television commercials to explain its taste and texture, because at that time genuine cheese was used in its recipe.[6]" I think Walpoop sells a cheese combo like that or close, or you can just combine those cheese to avoid all the processing of Velveeta, which isn't even made with genuine cheese anymore! Not that cheese is a health food or anything but chemicals are making everyone sick. For the salsa, consider just using the ingredients: "Salsa roja, "red sauce", is used as a condiment in Mexican and Southwestern (U.S.) cuisines; usually includes cooked tomatoes, chili peppers, onion, garlic, and fresh cilantro (coriander)."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WoundedEgo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very good. I used a whole lb of cheese and added taco seasoning for flavor. Made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The best part about this recipe is how adaptable it is based on what you happen to have on hand. I have found that the amounts listed in the recipe are really just suggestions -- add as much or as little of any of the ingredients (if at all) as you want. I used 1 lb ground beef, 1 lb of Velveeta, and 1 lb of elbow macaroni. I didn't have beans, so I used some of the Trader Joe's Cowboy Caviar in there, which added some spice and color. You can't screw this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Very good - I changed the elbow macaroni to small shells (only because we had Mac N Cheese the night before). Also added a packet of Taco Seasoning to meat mixture. Added a dollop of sour cream and some extra salsa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was okay but I would much prefer either goulash or nachos instead of a combo of both. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made this recipe as written with one small change. I use the Velveeta with jalapenos to add a little kick. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Would give this 5 stars if it didn't use velveeta which bothers me. BUT, this recipee is easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This was fantastic 'fresh' (I ate it for leftovers for lunch and it wasn't that great of a 'reheat' meal). I made this a 'one pan' meal, and used my 12" skillet/pan. Cooked the meat and drained then added in the corn (not drained) and pinto beans (not drained) also I added 3cups of chicken broth (didn't have any beef broth on hand) and then added in the noodles (uncooked). I let that all come to a boil and cook the noodles for a good 15 minutes. I love when I can just use one pan for dinner and not have so much to clean up afterwards!!! My husband LOVED this and said it needs to be a monthly dinner! I served with fresh tomatoes on top as well as sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thompsonsbj08
Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
My daughter described it as "kind of horrible" and husband breathed a sigh of relief that HE didn't have to be the one to ask for it to stay off our meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Two of my three LOVED this, my third didn't like it at all. I thought it was awesome as well as my parents (we had them over for dinner). Overall, it was a hit except for one strange child that didn't like it for some reason. I love spicy food, but I'm the ONLY one if my family :( I think this a great way to introduce kids to spicy food. I had a pretty mild salsa, but it did have a little zip to it. My oldest said, this is spicy, but kept eating it because it was so good. My youngest didn't say a thing, just ate it. Will definitely make again, will use a different brand of salsa for my picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States