Mexican Fire Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
The kids love this. If you want more flavor -- I use chicken broth instead of water and canned El Pato sauce in my rice before I add the rest of the ingredients (the El Pato sauce doesn't really add a lot of liquid, so keep on about the same proportions of liquid as before.) I've also noticed that the HOT rather than MEDIUM picante sauce makes it almost too spicy, but you can scale up or down depending on your taste. Also, add a little minced onions, garlic and celery in the meat (hot pork sausage and/or ground beef) makes it really really good. I didn't use too much cheese on top at first, but this is the best part. The kids also like this inside burritos. Great! UPDATE: I was out of Sour Cream so I used Ranch dressing -- not 8 ounces, but just enough to get the creaminess through the mixture. Came out great and no one mentioned the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Perfect... loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orient, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
My husband loved it. I made it without the sour cream and breakfast turkey links. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
not terrible, just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I have to admit I loved this. I know it was fattening, I just didn't want to sub low-fat or fat free. Thanks. Will make again but not too often, because of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This stuff was good! I was just making it as a side dish so I left out the sausage but yum yum!! Very tasty and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I thought this was great. I served it to my inlaws and they loved it. I used the Italian and smoked sausage, the big fat kind, just cut up in pieces. That's what I had on hand. I think next time I will stick with the recipe and use ground. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I used chizo sausage and it was great - very spicy with good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Bland and full of calories. I was glad I had not made it for guests as I often like to try new recipes with my friends and family. Plus, it was not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This recipe was okay, but not very exciting. Definitely needs something to give it a kick. The name is very deceiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States