Mexican Fire Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Quick and easy. I used taco seasoned ground pork, substituted ranch dressing for the sour cream (didn't use 8 oz), and medium chunky salsa instead of picante. Also used day old rice (refrigerated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Awesome recipe! I have eaten it as a side and added it to tortilla shells to make quick burritos. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I did use ground pork seasoned with taco seasoning, so maybe it would be better with the sausage. It was just really flat and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was very good - the perfect combo of creamy, cheesy and savory... Quick and easy to put together as well. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made minor changes to this. My six-year-old and I don't really handle spicy too well, so I put in about 3/4 cup medium chunky salsa and about 1/2 cup sour cream. I also use sage sausage because that's the only sausage I actually like. I use Daiya cheddar shreds on top. We now make this 3-4 times a month because we love it so much. Occasionally we'll use the leftovers in burritos the next day but usually we just eat it with spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This got good reviews from my boys. I liked it too. The only thing I did differently was use a pkg. of cream cheese because I was out of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I have made this recipe thousands of times and everyone loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We did not really care for it, too much cheesy milk taste. I think we prefer it more tomatoey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a little better than I expected it to be. I'm not very fond of sour cream, but this recipe buried it in the mix fairly well. I made it exactly as written, using the Hot version of Pace picante sauce, and I shredded an 8-ounce "longhorn style" mild cheddar for the cheese. The recipe didn't say whether the fat from the browned sausage should be drained, or left in for flavor/etc. - I opted to get rid of it. If this hadn't included the sausage, or if I hadn't used the Hot picante sauce, I think this might've been a bit bland. But as I made it, I pretty much gobbled it up. Actually, I think that the reheated-in-the-microwave leftovers were a little better, because it seemed firmer and less moist. All in all, this made a pretty tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Made today for lunch but I didn't have sausage so I used two cooked chicken breasts that I chopped up. It is a good filling meal and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States