Mexican Fire Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Awesome recipe! I have eaten it as a side and added it to tortilla shells to make quick burritos. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I did use ground pork seasoned with taco seasoning, so maybe it would be better with the sausage. It was just really flat and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was very good - the perfect combo of creamy, cheesy and savory... Quick and easy to put together as well. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made minor changes to this. My six-year-old and I don't really handle spicy too well, so I put in about 3/4 cup medium chunky salsa and about 1/2 cup sour cream. I also use sage sausage because that's the only sausage I actually like. I use Daiya cheddar shreds on top. We now make this 3-4 times a month because we love it so much. Occasionally we'll use the leftovers in burritos the next day but usually we just eat it with spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This got good reviews from my boys. I liked it too. The only thing I did differently was use a pkg. of cream cheese because I was out of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I have made this recipe thousands of times and everyone loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We did not really care for it, too much cheesy milk taste. I think we prefer it more tomatoey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a little better than I expected it to be. I'm not very fond of sour cream, but this recipe buried it in the mix fairly well. I made it exactly as written, using the Hot version of Pace picante sauce, and I shredded an 8-ounce "longhorn style" mild cheddar for the cheese. The recipe didn't say whether the fat from the browned sausage should be drained, or left in for flavor/etc. - I opted to get rid of it. If this hadn't included the sausage, or if I hadn't used the Hot picante sauce, I think this might've been a bit bland. But as I made it, I pretty much gobbled it up. Actually, I think that the reheated-in-the-microwave leftovers were a little better, because it seemed firmer and less moist. All in all, this made a pretty tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Made today for lunch but I didn't have sausage so I used two cooked chicken breasts that I chopped up. It is a good filling meal and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this using no meat because it was a side dish to cheese and chicken enchiladas. I had already mixed together salsa and sour cream, along with a can of cheese soup for the enchiladas, so that's the mix I used for this rice; I didn't think it mattered that there was a little cheese soup mixed in and of course it was fine. Easy-peasy and excellent side dish. I ussed shredded pepper jack for the topping as that is what I had on hand. I'll definitely try it with the meat (not breakfast sausage, maybe Italian sausage I think, or pure ground pork,) as a main dish some other time; it's a great weekday meal. Thanks CHAUNIH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States