Mexican Fiesta Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
perhaps I had too high hopes for this recipe, but I was a little disappointed. I generally like to try a recipe 'as is' the first time around, but for this recipe, I regret not having applied some of the suggestions offered by those who were critical. there was so much sauce that the pasta seemed runny and it was not as flavorful as I'd hoped. if I make this again, I would cut the mayo and sour cream in half, and maybe double the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Excellente! The only changes I made was I used fresh cilantro and added cubed pepper jack cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
All around solid recipe. Pretty quick to put together with ingredients I typically have on hand. I now prefer this over a classic macaroni salad. Makes the first cook out of the season a smashing success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddaisyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is really good. I followed the recipe mostly to the letter, though I improvised on the ratio of mayo to sour cream and I think it was about half-and-half; and instead of salsa, I just chopped up a tomato. Added a can of green chiles as well, since no salsa. It's delicious and several people at the luncheon I took it to commented on it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Dirling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very good. I've made it twice. Once as directed and the second time I used a pack of ranch dressing mix (omitting the salt), switched around the mayo and sour cream ratio (since I was nearly out of mayo). Subbed some veggies I had for some I didn't and it turned out really nice. Both ways are good. The ranch dressing mix did rid the salad of the overly mayo/sour cream taste. I think the most important part is the salsa so make sure to use a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I just made a half-batch of this for my small family in anticipation of tonight's dinner, and it's very good; I imagine it will be even tastier after resting in the fridge all day. I gave it four stars because I did tweak it a quite a bit. I'm very much a taste-as-i-go cook, so I upped the cumin quite a bit, added cayenne for some extra heat, added chopped grape tomatoes and a hefty handful of chopped cilantro. I could eat a huge portion of this, but to save on calories, I plan to serve on a bed of greens with some diced cooked chicken added in. I'll definitely make this again, and maybe add some diced jalapeno for even more zip. I never thought of making a pasta salad with a Mexican twist--thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great recipe a new twist to pasta salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Point, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I omitted the olives, garlic powder, cumin, cilantro, salt & pepper and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was a huge hit, even with my daughter, who doesn't like pasta salads. I put in a good handful of fresh cilantro, I think it adds a fresher, brighter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESERTBORN54

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States