Mexican Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
A few steps to get this done. Not quick and easy but so very very good. I followed the recipe as written and served with rice. I think I will leave the lettuce and tomato out and serve them on the side. I do not like cooked lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This was really good, I left the lettuce and tomato out and used it to top our servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Oh my goodness, this was so good! My son is allergic to a whole lot of things including milk, eggs, wheat, soy, rice, oats, beef, pork, and chicken. It's hard to find delicious meals we all can eat, but I made this last night with Daiya non-dairy cheese (a mix of their cheddar and pepper jack flavors) and it was FABULOUS. Even my dad, who is not a fan of most allergy-friendly meals, raved about it. I left out the lettuce and tomatoes like the other reviewers recommended. We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I needed a recipe that used ground turkey. This was perfect! My family loved it and I will definitely make it again. I did as others suggested and served the lettuce and tomato on top instead of baking those in the casserole. I also used flour burritos instead of corn tortillas because my family prefers them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Very good. My families like it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Way too much chili powder which made this dish somewhat chalky. Lettuce & tomato served on the side would be much better than soggy lettuce & tomato layered & cooked into the actual dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved this as did my family. I also made it for a friend and her family and they requested the recipe. A little time consuming to prepare but it makes a lot and goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My only suggestions are to use a store bought Mexican enchilada sauce ( I live in an area with great choices for local Hispanic products) to save some time. I also sauteed some onion with the meat, and added extra hot taco seasoning to the mixture, as well as green chiles for flavor. I didn't drain the meat mixture at all. I would recommend using the firmest corn tortillas possible- I used very soft, fresh ones and they disintegrated in the casserole. It still tasted great, but was texturally off a bit. I added chopped tomatoes, lettuce, and onion when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious! The lettuce gave it that extra crunch that we love. It was a bit too spicy for my toddler even after cutting the chile powder in 1/3, but I would personally have loved it more spicy. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Just like everyone is saying: add fresh lettuce and tomatoes on top. Great recipe. My husband is a picky eater and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States