Mexican Egg Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and it was really good. I made a few changes though, so hence only 4 stars. 1- I scaled down the recipe to fit in a 8x8 pan. 2- I added some cumin and S&P to the egg mixture. 3- I made my enchilada sauce mixed with a can of cream of mushroom soup- try it, it's SO good. 4- I used 1/2 onion, 1/2 green pepper, & 1/2 yellow pepper for veggies. 5- Next time, I'll fry the corn tortillas before laying them in the pan. Overall, this recipe is a really nice mexican dish. Easy, fast, and tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie_C_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We also used bacon cooked and diced up and used sharp chedder and pepperjack cheese. This was really good, but hubby added some hot sauce to his. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Okay. We made it exactly as the recipe stated but for us it just seemed to be missing something. It was super easy to throw together though so it may be a recipe that we will work with and see if it can be jazzed up a bit. Maybe some more cheese and a few other spices with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This gets 3.5 stars for taste, but because of the ease of preparation, and also the 'uses things I usually have on hand' factor, I give it 4. I added a little ground cumin to the sauce - it was a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was amazing. Followed the recipe pretty much as it's written. I only used some roasted New Mexico Hatch green chilies. They were HOT - too hot for the kids, but the family raved about it for days after. Simple and easy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This recipe was great, but the cooking time was much different. I'd say about 50-60 mins minimum to get this recipe to brown on top and for the eggs to solidify. Otherwise great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I love Mexican Eggs!! This really is a tasty dish. I scambled the eggs first with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
this didn't have the flavor I was looking for and in comparison to similar dishes was too eggy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I did make a few changes though and layered two lots of tortilla and egg, then had two another layer of tortillas over the top and spread the sauce over that for the last ten minutes. I added the mushrooms to the egg mix rather than the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I served this recipe at Sunday Brunch and all my guests loved it. Great vegetarian egg bake. Be sure to get enchilada sauce that does not have "beef renderings" if you have vegetarian guests at your occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retirefly
Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States