Mexican Egg Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Not bad. I tossed some leftover stuff I was trying to use up into the eggs: chopped turkey lunch meat and chopped avocado, and I really liked the avocado in this. It was a cool complement to the spicy enchilada sauce. I also put in some cumin, salt and pepper and parsley. Hubs doesn't really like peppers, and I am not a fan of mushrooms, so I just did half mushroom and half pepper topping. Worked out well. Hubs told me he wasn't so sure about the texture of this, nor is he apparently a fan of the enchilada sauce, but otherwise he thought it was fine. I thought it was an interesting take on a breakfast casserole, but I think I prefer others. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I liked this.. really tasty. I subbed cottage cheese for part of the regular cheese and use crushed red pepper in the egg instead of red bell. Topped it with the sauce, shrooms and some of the diced green chilis and a bit of sour cream. I also added some canadian bacon to the mix.. I like "stuff" in my egg bakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Added cumin. Didn't use green or red peppers used orange and yellow. Sauted some onion in microwave and added. I didn't add mushrooms because it was a social function will add for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I did make a few changes though and layered two lots of tortilla and egg, then had two another layer of tortillas over the top and spread the sauce over that for the last ten minutes. I added the mushrooms to the egg mix rather than the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was amazing. Followed the recipe pretty much as it's written. I only used some roasted New Mexico Hatch green chilies. They were HOT - too hot for the kids, but the family raved about it for days after. Simple and easy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this for dinner last night and it was really good. I made a few changes though, so hence only 4 stars. 1- I scaled down the recipe to fit in a 8x8 pan. 2- I added some cumin and S&P to the egg mixture. 3- I made my enchilada sauce mixed with a can of cream of mushroom soup- try it, it's SO good. 4- I used 1/2 onion, 1/2 green pepper, & 1/2 yellow pepper for veggies. 5- Next time, I'll fry the corn tortillas before laying them in the pan. Overall, this recipe is a really nice mexican dish. Easy, fast, and tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie_C_S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salida, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I served this recipe at Sunday Brunch and all my guests loved it. Great vegetarian egg bake. Be sure to get enchilada sauce that does not have "beef renderings" if you have vegetarian guests at your occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retirefly
Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We also used bacon cooked and diced up and used sharp chedder and pepperjack cheese. This was really good, but hubby added some hot sauce to his. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
To be fair, I really did intend to stick to the recipe this time, but I never fail to not follow the rules. First I used egg starts intead of real eggs, then I added green onion, crab and feta to the eggs. I baked it at 375 for 50-60 minutes to get the eggs to set. For the sauce I used LaVicortia's enchilada sauce and added chopped tomato and dicarded the mushrooms. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This gets 3.5 stars for taste, but because of the ease of preparation, and also the 'uses things I usually have on hand' factor, I give it 4. I added a little ground cumin to the sauce - it was a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States