Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I followed the direction using cherry tomatoes as other reviews suggested. I also doubled the dressing as we like more dressing. We topped each bowl at serving time with a few crushed tortilla chips, Yummy! Good recipe, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out great! I will definitely be adding this to my picnic recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I served this at a family get together, and everyone loved it!!! The only things I did different was left out cumin, doubled red pepper and added more cilantro and fresh tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I made a few additions/changes to suit our personal tastes though. I added 1/2 a small red onion,chopped, doubled the vinegar, used fresh plum tomatoes rather than the stewed, fresh cilantro rather than dried, and fresh sweet corn(used a can of white kernal corn once also and was almost as good) also a splash of lime juice. All veggies diced to about the size of corn kernals. We eat this w tortilla chips like a fresh garden salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is delish! So refreshing and a perfect side to BBQing Carne Asada tacos outside! Like other reviewers, I also added 2 tblspns of lime juice, used fresh cilantro and 2 ears of corn fresh off the cob. I made the salad the night before to allow the flavors to combine - and right before serving I added one diced avocado. Will make again and again! (My husband suggested adding shrimp, crab and squid, taking out the cucumber for a homemade Ceviche. Fantastic idea if you're a Ceviche fan!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was alright, but not as good as I'd hoped. Another reviewer suggested adding green onion, and I think that would have helped. I also thought of maybe adding some fresh lime juice (1-2 tsp?). It just needs that "zing." And I thought the canned tomatoes were too mushy to go with all the fresh veggies - fresh would have been much better, in my opinion. I'm not sure I will try this again, but if I do, I am going to modify it a bit and see if that helps. I will say it looked really pretty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was good,light and refreshing. I added half a bunch of chopped green onions,1 1/2 tsp of sugar,and a tsp of oregano. Next time I'll reduce the crushed pepper seeds,my husband thought it was a little hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggielifestyle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Delicious! I used cider vinegar, as I was out of red wine vinegar; it worked very well. I also skipped the onion as we aren't fans and used fresh cilantro instead of dried. This has a great blend of flavors, as well as being really colorful and refreshing. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
very good with grape tomatoes, red onion, fresh cilantro and red and green peppers. Used frozen corn and cayenne pepper instead of flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States