Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is delish! So refreshing and a perfect side to BBQing Carne Asada tacos outside! Like other reviewers, I also added 2 tblspns of lime juice, used fresh cilantro and 2 ears of corn fresh off the cob. I made the salad the night before to allow the flavors to combine - and right before serving I added one diced avocado. Will make again and again! (My husband suggested adding shrimp, crab and squid, taking out the cucumber for a homemade Ceviche. Fantastic idea if you're a Ceviche fan!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was alright, but not as good as I'd hoped. Another reviewer suggested adding green onion, and I think that would have helped. I also thought of maybe adding some fresh lime juice (1-2 tsp?). It just needs that "zing." And I thought the canned tomatoes were too mushy to go with all the fresh veggies - fresh would have been much better, in my opinion. I'm not sure I will try this again, but if I do, I am going to modify it a bit and see if that helps. I will say it looked really pretty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was good,light and refreshing. I added half a bunch of chopped green onions,1 1/2 tsp of sugar,and a tsp of oregano. Next time I'll reduce the crushed pepper seeds,my husband thought it was a little hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggielifestyle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Delicious! I used cider vinegar, as I was out of red wine vinegar; it worked very well. I also skipped the onion as we aren't fans and used fresh cilantro instead of dried. This has a great blend of flavors, as well as being really colorful and refreshing. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
very good with grape tomatoes, red onion, fresh cilantro and red and green peppers. Used frozen corn and cayenne pepper instead of flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great fresh salad! I used fresh tomatoes in place of the canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This salad tasted like it couldn't decide what it was, the different flavors competed. But my kids really liked it, which is always nice when it comes to salad. I doubled the corn, and used apple cider vinegar instead of wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was great! I used Italian seasoning instead of cumin. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic Dish! I substituted fresh corn and tomatos instead of the canned ones ( i hate canned vegetables) and I thought it tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nrdrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States