Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Well,I made this dish for the 2nd time. and next time I will leave out the vinegar of any kind but it is a good dish,oh, I used a zucchini instead of a cucumber. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Very good salad, I substituted Balsamic vinegar (because it's what we had at home) and fresh coriander instead of dried. It tastes wonderful just made, but it's even better if you leave it in the fridge for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I loved this salad, but toned down the red pepper. I suggest starting at a tsp. and working your way up by the 1/4 or 1/2 tsp. I ended up with half of what the recipe calls for. I used the canned corn, since I didn't have any fresh around right then. Next time I am going to steam a couple or three ears of corn and cut it from the cob. I also added a can of black beans. It is wonderful. I can see it will be a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1325

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
My husband and I really loved this recipe. Left out the bell peppers for taste reasons, so not sure what it is like with them, but it was delicious without. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I followed the direction using cherry tomatoes as other reviews suggested. I also doubled the dressing as we like more dressing. We topped each bowl at serving time with a few crushed tortilla chips, Yummy! Good recipe, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out great! I will definitely be adding this to my picnic recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I served this at a family get together, and everyone loved it!!! The only things I did different was left out cumin, doubled red pepper and added more cilantro and fresh tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I made a few additions/changes to suit our personal tastes though. I added 1/2 a small red onion,chopped, doubled the vinegar, used fresh plum tomatoes rather than the stewed, fresh cilantro rather than dried, and fresh sweet corn(used a can of white kernal corn once also and was almost as good) also a splash of lime juice. All veggies diced to about the size of corn kernals. We eat this w tortilla chips like a fresh garden salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is delish! So refreshing and a perfect side to BBQing Carne Asada tacos outside! Like other reviewers, I also added 2 tblspns of lime juice, used fresh cilantro and 2 ears of corn fresh off the cob. I made the salad the night before to allow the flavors to combine - and right before serving I added one diced avocado. Will make again and again! (My husband suggested adding shrimp, crab and squid, taking out the cucumber for a homemade Ceviche. Fantastic idea if you're a Ceviche fan!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States