Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This didn't work for us. Flavor more like a gazpacho. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this for a party where chicken fajitas were the main course. Everyone loved this salad! It was very refreshing and not too spicy! I did not change one thing! perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Nenow Hildebrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very easy to throw together and great flavor. I used fresh tomato instead of canned. Turned out quite spicy!! I also added some chopped green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was great. I used what I had. I did not have the bell peppers and used balsamic vinegar and it turned out really nice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Great salad - didn't change a THING! and as per other reviewers, it tastes even BETTER the next day! So plan ahead and make it even the night before you need it. I did use one fresh tomato as opposed to the canned (less sodium that way) and I scaled the recipe down to 3 servings as it was only for me to try it first (I am the guinea pig around my house). EXCELLENT recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe as written is only okay. But if you substitute FRESH ingredients you really have something special!!! I used a huge english cucumber, fresh tomatos, fresh corn from the cob, and fresh cilantro & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca1810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Niles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Eeks - WAY too spicy! Would cut the amount of red pepper flakes in half and add more later if you want an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was a nice, refreshing, crunchy salad. I was quite glad it called for dried cilantro (coriander) as opposed to fresh, as I'm the only one who likes cilantro in my family, although I would have used it if I could. The coriander gave this a much different, but pleasant, flavor, and provided a perfect backdrop for the cumin. I can't account for how much heat this has, as I left out the tablespoon of hot pepper flakes. I also used fresh tomatoes rather than canned, but otherwise followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I think this must be very good. I took it to an office party and it was all gone before I got to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Sano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Es muy bueno y es muy pico! I picked up my bountiful baskets this morning and there were 2 cucumbers, cilantro and a tomato. I had corn from last week so I whipped this up this morning. I used all fresh ingredients, but since I added the extra cucumber I doubled the red wine vinegar, but not the spices. I actually re read the directions to make sure it really had a tablespoon of red pepper flakes in it. If you don't like your food spicy I would go with 1/2 or less. My husband is eating his with chicken wrapped in a tortilla. My mouth is still zipping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States