Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I had a spare cucumber in the fridge and found this recipe, so I thought I would try. I only changed one thing. I used one whole tomato in place of the canned. I ate some as soon as I was done making, but tried it later after letting it sit in the fridge, and it was much better. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BPEREZBMW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
This was marvelous. I used one huge English cucumber, diced tomatoes with green pepper, celery and onions, diced red onion, no bell peppers, 2 ears fresh corn, cut from the cob, fresh cilantro, and lots more garlic. Next time I'm invited to a BBQ or something I am taking this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This was nice and refreshing. I used Rotel tomatoes and cut down on the pepper flakes but it was still pretty spicy. I liked it that way but it was too spicy for my husband. Next time I will use regular stewed tomatoes. I also added a tablespoon or so of sugar to give a hint of sweetness and take away some of the tartness of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Very good salad. I followed AMHONG's tweakings from below and firmly concur with her suggestion to use fresh cilantro. Dried cilantro is awful and doesn't improve any dish it is put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
The only changes I made were to use fresh halved grape tomatoes, and fresh cilantro. It was way too spicy for me but Husband really liked it. He said it was tasty and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This salad was absolutely wonderful! It was so flavorful and really refreshing! I don't know why one review was so bad or why they didn't like it. The flavors were really good and everyone who ate it loved it! The only changes I made were that I used two cucumbers, instead of one, half of each bell pepper, 2/3 of the corn, 1/2 TBS. of the red pepper flakes, and a dash of sugar. I also used fresh cilantro... dried wouldn't be the same. Anyway, this was a great side dish and is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This smelled wonderful! Next time, I would double the amount of cucumber. Very easy to prepare and it looked good also. I used fresh tomatoes instead of stewed ones. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This was delicious! I made a few changes after reading reviews. I 1 cup of cherry tomatoes and added a little water and another tbsp of vinegar. I used fresh cilantro. The salad was even better the NEXT DAY. I recommend making this a day ahead of time to have all the saesoning really soak into the veggies. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
We loved this salad! I used Mexican style stewed tomatoes, fresh cilantro, and 1/2 the red pepper flakes. This was very tasty with our basil burgers.Thanks Ecuadorita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This would be good served on top of chicken. The TBS of red pepper I cut to 1 tsp. I did use the mex. tomatoes and fresh cilantro. I doubled the cucumber. Good for a hot day but not special enough for 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States