Mexican Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Awesome salad. I didn't have red pepper flakes so I used a teaspoon of powder and it was just fine, definitely spicy enough. I used fresh cilantro and mixed all of the spice ingredients with the vinegar before pouring on the veggies. It was the perfect side for shrimp enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This was delicious! I made a few changes after reading reviews. I 1 cup of cherry tomatoes and added a little water and another tbsp of vinegar. I used fresh cilantro. The salad was even better the NEXT DAY. I recommend making this a day ahead of time to have all the saesoning really soak into the veggies. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Either my crushed red pepper flakes are very potent or other reviewers have a higher tolerance for pain. I found that a Tablespoon of crushed red pepper flakes was just way too much for me! Next time, I'll cut back to 1 teaspoon for more balance of flavors. Also, since cherry tomatoes are in full season, I used 2 cups of them instead of canned stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is a nice and refreshing salad. I used our Jersey tomato's to make this and because we detest it, I left out the cilantro and used parsley to garnish. An avacado helped to make this even better. Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is GREAT!!!!! I took it to my family's 4th of July gathering & it was a hit! Everyone asked for the recipe. I followed the advice of others & used fresh cilantro. I also used fresh tomatoes from my garden. I realized after the salad was complete that I had chopped the veggies a bit small (more of a dice than a chop) so I bought some corn chips and served it as a refreshing salsa. Thanks for a fantastic recipe that I will use over & over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I used 2 big cucumbers but I made the chucks a little big...I would have preferred a less chunky salad. I used a can of diced stewed tomatoes. Very good salad although I think my expectations for it @ dinner were raised by my grandson's comment at lunch. He really likes cukes & he said this was better than a pyramid of candy. LOL Don't know that I thought it was THAT good but it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Loved it! I used all fresh ingredients, 1.5 cucumbers (because it didn't look quite cucumbery enough with everything else), and a little more cilantro; otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. The mix of flavors was perfectly balanced--no one taste dominated. I seeded the cukes so the salad wouldn't get soggy, and it was even better the next day. I brought it to work and added chopped avocado--fantastic, and the avocado cut down the heat a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Very good nice to have a light side dish with my mexican meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Really good. I did use halved cherry tomatoes as we're not canned tomato lovers and also used fresh cilantro. Quite spicy but not unbearably so. My husband's a wimp in the spice department and he said it was ok. Can see me making this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Wonderful salad!! I have made several times now and everyone enjoys it. I also use fresh cilantro, not dried, 1/2 of each bell pepper and either fresh or canned tomatoes. Thanks for this keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States