Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Good tasting. Makes many more that 6 servings. I was considerering doubling the recipe as I was expecting many people, but glad I didn't. It made a huge bowl that yielded at least 15 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This recipe has been ahit every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I found a similar recipe to this in Southern Living magazine last summer. I added teh chiles TO the corn bread mix along w/ a little taco seasoning to make a mexican corn bread. I also used 1 can black beans instead of pinto, layered w/ romaine lettuce, real bacon instead of the bits and use Montery Jack cheese instead of plain cheddar. Overall this is a great salad that you can adjust to your own liking! It does make a huge bowl, so make sure you've got plenty to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this twice for family events. Everyone liked it both times but being from Texas, everyone said it needed to be spicier the first time so here's what I did. I switched the regular corn to Mexi corn (has red and green bell peppers in it). I used the hot green chili peppers instead of the mild. I added a teaspoon of cumin to the ranch salad dressing. We all liked it even better the second time (with the extra spice). Next time I make it I'm going to use pico de gallo (chunky salsa) instead of just straight tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I usually make this to take to cookouts. It has been a big hit everytime. I always get asked for the recipe. I use a 16 oz. bottle of Ranch Dressing instead of 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
We love this recipe. Definately make the day before to let flavors mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This was a delicious salad. It definitely serves more than six, also I used a 16 ounce bottle of salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This was a hit at a recent get-together! I used Kraft Cilantro Pepper flavored Ranch dressing that I think made it even better. The bacon bits aren't really necessary for this dish to work! Try this recipe...it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was a bit of work and was not all that popular with my co-workers at our summer potluck. It was very pretty to look at it, and one or two enjoyed it, but it made a lot and I threw almost half of it away. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Great recipe! Very different. It tastes better if you make it a day ahead. Also, the recipe says it's for 6 servings but it's more like for 12-15. Unless you are feeding a big crowd, I would cut this back by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States