Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I brought this to a potluck and everyone raved about it! I altered the recipe slightly, using black beans instead of pinto, Hidden Valley spicy ranch dressing, "mexican blend" shredded cheese, and real bacon in my recipe. It was easy to make, looked beautiful and tasted fantastic. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was a big hit with the men at a recent party, with every one of them coming back for seconds. It easly feeds 12-15. Next time will may add olives?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Took this as a side dish to a barbeque and most everone seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This is very good. Only changes i made was to use real cooked bacon instead of the bits and used 3 green onions. The corn adds just the right touch of sweet with the other vegetables. This does make a huge salad. If it's not for a large gathering i would highly recommend halving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This was different and we enjoyed it. I will make again but not something I would make often. I do believe real bacon crumbled is the best way to go but of course we love bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
First, let me just say that I never thought of anything so simple as adding a can of diced chilies to cornbread mixture - I'll be doing that from now on! Yum! We found this recipe to be OK. I subbed black beans for the pintos and used a can of diced tomatoes with chilies since I was pressed for time. Hubby liked everything BUT the cornbread part, I liked the cornbread part the best. (?) Hopefully we'll find a way to customize this so it pleases both of us. I was happy that I could make this the night before and it didn't get terribly soggy. I am still eating it for lunch the rest of this week. We're going to keep tinkering with this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caribou, Maine, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was really delish. I did use taco seasoning in the cornbread and I also used 1/2 c. pepper jack cheese and 1 c. mexican cheese blend. Also, after the tomato layer I put a layer of picante sauce and a layer of a mexican cilli sauce. Without it I think it wouldn't have been nearly as good, but it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I take this salad to all our family events. It makes a lot and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have taken this to several potlucks and it is always a hit. I agree that it makes a bunch, so I just make half the recipe for small gatherings (15 people or less) and I just use a box of Jiffy cornbread. To make it quick, I use canned, diced tomatoes w/ roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Earlville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States